Doldrums

 

I am in poetic doldrums
everything I write seems trite.
Depression looms in wordless gloom.
‘Delete’ the most-used key.

I read some of my early work
to see what I have done
that pleased me at the time –
maybe I could write another one.

I am dragging myself on all fours into poetry, bumping against the walls of language. Here’s one I wrote in about 2007 when I was just starting out on the poetry path. How sesquipedalian I was in those days. 


An Alliterative Love Poem

Antonym and assonance, allograph and all
these fancy phrases  captivate me, and my mind enthrall.
Semantic and phonetic, semiotic and phonemic
lexical, indexical, these phrases are such bliss.
Partially poetical, I start to reminisce.
In verses, vowels are valuable while consonants console.
Rhyme and rhythm conjugate to rock rhetoric soul.
Theme and rheme, grapheme and morpheme, the length of many a line
the metric mark of poesy is one that I extol.   

Envoi
I started this alliteration
My love to list for poesy
And now, hell's bells and botheration
This that I write is heresy.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in humour, life writing, rants, really bad poem, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Doldrums

  1. Pseu says:

    And you used long words in those days too…… ( 😉 )

    Like

  2. Lindy Lee says:

    Interesting collection of thoughts & words, ringing & rhyming…

    Like

  3. Such a struggle… A white paper stress me out totally.. i need prompts I need inspiration.,.. twitter is my source when doldrums hit.. and sometimes you get that inspiration that just hits you…

    googlism is sometimes a great inspiration… and fiction .. I love that.

    Like

  4. Pamela says:

    Sorry, Viv. I can understand how you feel, though, I suppose we will both come out of it. Please keep your chin up.

    Love,
    Pamela ox

    Like

  5. thehutts says:

    Knit away and the words will come back! Love Sally

    Like

  6. claudia says:

    i hear you viv… there are times when i feel so insecure about my writing and there are times when it’s seems harder to find these words.. what i do then is i just walk away for a bit… live life and do other things until the words come easy again… one of my fav poems rgd. that topic is by charles bukowski… so you want to be a writer… but hey… glad you put something together… and here’s to many more poems to spill forth…smiles

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply