Once upon a time

 

A handsome prince (but wilful)
wanted to find him a wife.
He started a search
to finish in church
but wasn’t awfully skilful.

He danced with some girls
but disdained their curls,
found none he could live with for life.
Too flighty, not pretty,
too dim or too clever –
when, oh when would he ever
meet his wife.

Then one day at a ball
in a quaint village hall,
he spied one he thought was perfection,
she was dressed all in gold,
and he hurried to hold
her, under a sad misconception:
she was really a dog –
he turned into a frog
when he kissed her.

Meeting the Bar at dVerse tonight is all about story telling in poetry:   character, plot, character, conflict, and theme.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in really bad poem, rhyming poetry, story poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Once upon a time

  1. Teresa says:

    How fun! I love the ending.

    Like

  2. Pamela says:

    A fun read to lighten my mood. Thanks for that, Viv.

    Love,
    Pamela ox

    Like

  3. hypercryptical says:

    Oh dear – what a sad ending to a fun write. Love it!
    Anna :o]

    Like

  4. Ha, the folly of being dazzled by the golden dress….I wrote about a dress with similar misfortune, for this prompt, too, Viv. Are we jaded? hee hee.

    Like

  5. Ha! What an ending… and so did they live happily ever after? 🙂
    -HA

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    LOL! I love this, Viv!

    >

    Like

  7. catterel says:

    So true unfortunately!! But thanls for making me smile on a cold wet morning 😀

    Like

  8. MarinaSofia says:

    Ha, ha, the counterpoint of my fairtyale! Perfect: humorous, light and what a witty ending.

    Like

  9. This was such a fun poem. Though one worries about the ones we kiss.

    Like

  10. Delightful. I’ve enjoyed the sober and somber tones of this evening’s festivities, but I’m glad you lightened up the deck a bit. The poem bows and curtseys. Well done.

    Like

  11. rosross says:

    Fabulous Viv. You made my morning start with a chuckle.

    Like

  12. Bodhirose says:

    Fun! Love the twisty twirl at the end…really cute.

    Like

  13. brian miller says:

    ha. twisted fairy tale…hey if you chase the wrong things you will surely end up with it you know…and it sounds like he found his curse honestly…smiles….fun story viv…

    Like

  14. alan1704 says:

    Yes, there are so many frogs out there is disguise. Spotting them is the key. I liked this and the twist, great smiles

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    I liked your interesting opposite twist on the tale, Viv…. It made me smile.

    Like

  16. lupitatucker says:

    This was a fun one! Poor prince …

    Like

  17. yeah.. I could see the prince turning into the frog.. great rythm… limerick style fitting the humor of the piece.. ha stories should be fun too.

    Like

  18. claudia says:

    haha… oh what a close… i didn’t see that come… and i always kissed frogs to see if a prince would appear you know..smiles

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply