Atrabilious tanka

Dictionary.com’s word-of-the-day  yesterday:  “atrabilious”, an adjective meaning gloomy, morose, melancholy, morbid;  irritable, bad-tempered;  splenetic.   It could well describe me, who is glooming for lack of poetic inspiration.   However, a Prompt a Day gives us the phrase “Take it Easy” to start us off. So that’s what I’ve been doing.  It’s not working.  A gloomy tanka for you.

IMG_0803

Leaves are yellowing
early on the apple tree
scatter on the lawn
fallen spirit of Autumn
prematurely lowers mood

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in nature poems, pictures, tanka and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Atrabilious tanka

  1. our summer has been dismal and the leaves have been sporting fall colours since mid July. sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand why it would…too soon for summer to be ending, I think.

    Like

  3. Candy says:

    I think you might be glooming your way to some great poetry

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love autumn but mourn the lack of daylight too. It’s hard to get excited in the winter of our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Misky says:

    I hope to see a more cheerful creation soon, Viv. Just think of all the pears and apples and blackberries still to come!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply