Quilty progress

The scrap quilt I started last Sunday is making slow progress, and the pile of bits of fabric shows little signs of disappearing:
blocks 4, 5, 6 ,  and 7block 4

and another one on the go.  There’s something very satisfying about the process

block 5 ...  5.8.15of more or less random piecing.

block 6

block 7

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Quilty progress

  1. It’s going to be wonderful when done. I love the way you are using up all your scraps. I’ll put something like that on my very long list of things to do.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Seasweetie says:

    I have only ever made pieced quilts by hand, and always hand-tied them. You’ve reminded me that I want to make a “crazy quilt” – all velvets and special fabrics, fancy-stitched on a plain muslin sheet. Perhaps a winter project for me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. colonialist says:

    This is one project of which one can say, with total accuracy, ‘It’s coming together nicely!’

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joan says:

    You may have inspired me to do something of this nature as a winter project. During those dull and grey days that seem so distant right now. When you speak of sashing does that refer to the strips of fabric between the blocks? Also, will you quilt stitch or tie this quilt?
    Greetings from the very hot and humid MidWestern US

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes,you’ve described sashing exactly. Yes, it will be quilted. I’m very bad a machine quilting, but this looks as though it’s going t be too big for me to hand quilt. I vowed years ago that I’d handquilt no more big projects, but I keep getting tempted beyond my strength. Good luck with your quilt – there’s nothing like working on a quilt to keep you warm in winter.

      Like

      • Joan says:

        Thank you for the encouragement. If I really do this it will have to be tied since I have no quilting experience. The piecing I can do, but not the rest. Ah well, the winter is a way off and there is time to plot it out.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hand quilting is not difficult, doesn’t have to be tiny stitches, so long as they are reasonably even. I find it very soothing. Modern cotton quilt battings don’t need to be closely quilted andyou could simply outline the blocks “in the ditch” of the block seams. Failing that, you could have it professionally quilted on a long-arm machine – you may find this service through your local quilt shop. Bon courage.

          Like

  5. tialys says:

    I like the idea of piecing and then cutting out the blocks. Might give that a go.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Misky says:

    Very artistic.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I enjoy random piecing. I usually then cut out blocks and sash with black or white which gives unity.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

