Dragonfly Days

 

A beautiful creature haunted
my childhood
by in and on the Thames
with glistening blue and green
enchantment,
hovering among  willow fronds.

 Faraway West in Canada a friend photographed a different coloured dragonfly. https://insearchofitall.wordpress.com/


for Sally’s wild challenge

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, nature poems, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dragonfly Days

  1. When we lived in SA, we would see them hovering over the pool. Beautiful.

    Like

  2. Sigh…enchantment indeed!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dragonflies, fireflies, june bugs…all delights of the season. Happy summer Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for using my photo of the very first dragonfly I’ve ever seen. It was the most mystical experience I’ve ever had as that beautiful creature stopped and posed for me. Even my son was stunned that I got that photo one handed with a point and shoot camera. The other hand is on the cane. 🙂 I loved your poem with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Misky says:

    A lovely summery poem!

    >

    Like

  6. colonialist says:

    There certainly is something quite enchanting about dragonflies. I used to fancy, as a kid, that they were fairies in disguise.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply