Break Fast

330929370_4f7d3974f7_n
Image by Tim Ellis via Flickr

 Break Fast

Up through a heap of sugared beech leaves,
I poke my nose, whiffle the air.
No.  It’s not yet time.

I wake to hungry rumbling
but no scent of juicy mollusc greets me
and I cannot stand the cold.

Back to sleep until Spring.


It’s the end of a perfect dream
of moistened, creeping worms,
and willing females.

I snuffle again and honeyed air
meets my cautious nose.
Hmm, I think.  That’s better.

Ah yes, the time has come
to leave my winter bed of fleas,
to feast and make love,

… carefully.

For the penultimate day of #30dayswild I wanted something a bit special – for the rest of the month, the poems have been a bit rushed and instant, so today’s poem is an old one of which I am rather fond. 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, nature poems, Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Break Fast

  1. I remember this one. I’ve always liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This poem and your POV cause me to smile, Viv!! Lovely and fun nature persona!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

