Poetic Journalism

 

 

There once was a guy named Farage
who didn’t want Britain enlarged.
He ranted and raved
for the pound to be saved
and the EU to be discharged.

 

For those not in the know,  Nigel Farage MEP is the leader of the UK Independence Party (UKIP).  dVerse Poets’ Pub wants a wryly poetic look at current events.
I find it impossible to say anything nice about this chap.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, politics, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poetic Journalism

  1. hypercryptical says:

    Brilliant!
    Anna :o]

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    Just so we know where you stand 🙂 🙂

    Like

  3. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Right! Now I don’t need to read the UK news; I’ve got it all from your verse. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh yes the limerick works excellently against politicians …

    Like

  5. biggerthanalasagna says:

    I love a limerick. Very clever!

    Like

  6. brian miller says:

    ha. we have a few of those politicians i can say nothing good about….well most of them…smiles….

    Like

  7. I think the limerick is a perfect form for political rants. Good one. And thanks for explaining, though the tone says a lot.

    Like

  8. colonialist says:

    I also would want an embargo
    On Brit being part of farrago
    Of those foreign states
    That everyone hates,
    So I say Farage he should Fargo!

    Like

  9. claudia says:

    ha – i wonder if they will ever say yes to the euro…smiles

    Like

  10. You did well not to swear

    Like

  11. Misky says:

    couldn’t you have room for the word “garbage” in your rhyming scheme? 🙂

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply