A myth for Napo 26

 

Pythagoras was a clever Greek
who learned a thing or two.
The square on the hypotenuse
and all that Jazz
explained at length by teachers
to classes of bemused kids,
turns them into geeks.
I never will forget it
thanks to that man Danny Kaye.
so the moral of this poem is
if you want to learn a theorem,
you’ve gotta make it fun.

Miz Quickly’s prompt for day 26 is to take a myth, fable or teaching tale as the context for our poems.  Mine cries out for rhyme, but I’m clean out of them!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in really bad poem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A myth for Napo 26

  1. Which film? I remember the song but not the movie.

    Like

  2. colonialist says:

    I love it!
    True, too. Of course, another that reinforced it was the joke about the squaw on the hippopotamus being equal to the sum of the squaws on the other two hides.
    Julie and her Doe, a Deer earns a vote of thanks, too.

    Like

  3. Ron. says:

    I, too, think of Danny every time Pythagoras is mentioned. Cool poem, V.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

