Sevenling

A dead awful sevenling

Dead?  Who says I’m dead?
I’m still here inside,
ready for a hooley.

What’s that you say?
A wake?  I’m all for a party;
can I come, pretty please?

Why not? I ask. Let’s have some fun.

 

dVerse Meeting the Bar have set us to write a Sevenling, and you’ll find the formula by following the link.  This one was written in 2010 when I was a raw beginner at writing poetry.  The original prompt was in the Dead Man Writing series at Poetic Asides.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, humour. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sevenling

  1. restlessjo says:

    No fun if you can’t dance at your own wake, is it? 🙂 I’ll be there ‘in spirit’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not sure that some do indeed attend their own wakes. Lovely write!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kelvin s.m. says:

    All is fair when it’s all about having fun. I like this! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lynn__ says:

    A bit deaf maybe, but not dead…too funny!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like your dead man! The poem made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. katechiconi says:

    Plenty of life in you yet, I’d say! It’s one of the reasons I’d like to know the date I move on – one could have a great party, sort everything out tidily, give people a chance to get used to the idea. You could pick your own outfit, choose your coffin, have a last chat to everyone, get uproariously drunk and then climb in and close your eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mary says:

    What fun to think about coming to one’s own wake! If it is a fine party, I’d hate to miss it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bodhirose says:

    Great title, Viv! 🙂 It’s good to know even the dead are up for a good party!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bryan Ens says:

    Love the title! Fun piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kanzensakura says:

    Did you ever see the moving, Waking Ned Devine? It has a wonderful scene where the eulogist begins, I’d like to sit at my wake…his best friend has to pretend to be dead and is sitting in among the mourners and hears the words his life long friend says about him. It thought it was one of the best and most memorable scenes in a movie….I’d like to think I would have surviving friends (I know there will be no blood family) who would have a party and fun and talk about me and laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Spectacular 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. hypercryptical says:

    O so good! I think I’d like to attend my own wake too…
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Wow – love the humor in this..

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Misky says:

    Very clever! >

    Like

  15. whimsygizmo says:

    🙂 I like this journey back to the beginnings of your talent, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

