Wordle 129: a pumpkin diary

129

April

stars, clear skies, frosty nights
too soon to plant for autumn fruit

May
things to do: busy busy time goes by
last chance to plant before I could blink

June
swept, dug the secret patch, prepared the nest
planted basket of seeds, clever – there will be surplus

July
saw the miracle of growth as a cluster of leaves emerges
hand weed, pull out sickly plants and leave the strong

August
heat and dust – the plot dries but growth continues
water each plant nightly and talk to them sweetly

September
flesh appears amid the leaves, A flash of orange
plants fed and encouraged to develop and swell

October
anxious watching will they ripen in time?
monster gourd plant ready for harvest

November
sadness as Jack o’ Lanterns wither
joy at Thanksgiving pumpkin pie

 

image from whatscookingamerica.net

When I saw the wordle words, the prompt at dVerse for a pumpkin poem leapt into my head!

OctPoWriMo day 6 asks for a poem about what gives us butterflies!  I wrote one a while back called Parachute Jump
so today’s Pumpkin Diary will have to be my poem for today!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in pictures, Poems, story poems, wordles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Wordle 129: a pumpkin diary

  1. Pamela says:

    Excellent approach to the words, Viv. I love pumpkins. In fact the kids and I at school are anticipating fun things to do with pumpkins this year. I hope all is well with you.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  2. I love carving jack-o’lanterns… always have, even though the smell is beyond gross by the time the pumpkin has been bought!

    Lovely capture of the Wordle, and I’d give anything to try YOUR pumpkin pie, Viv. Amy

    Like

  3. thehutts says:

    No pumkins for us this year :(. The seed didn’t grow. We have lots of very large courgettes to get through though. There are still a few very small ones on the plants but I will have to catch them before the frost or slugs get them. Sally

    Like

  4. ellaedge says:

    Viv I enjoyed your clever approach…now off to make pumpkin pie or cookies~
    Well Done

    Like

  5. ds says:

    I love pumpkin pie. Oh, that anxious watching for ripeness. Enjoyed this. Thank you.

    Like

  6. ManicDdaily says:

    I live in the mountains now so there is always a difficulty in getting things to ripen before they freeze! You describe the way the gardening year goes/grows so well. k.

    Like

  7. claudia says:

    so you’re talking to your pumpkins as they grow..? smiles… i like… love how you wrote the whole circle here… and i LOVE pumpkin pie…smiles

    Like

  8. Misky says:

    This is so clever!! I love it, Viv.

    Like

  9. shanyns says:

    Love this…wonder what the other months will have when you do part II? Very nicely done.

    Like

  10. Your post took us through seasons,not only on food, but life in general and what we do when it sprinkles its moments on us 🙂

    Like

  11. Stan Ski says:

    Doesn’t time fly when you stay busy?

    Like

  12. A great journey through a garden’s cycle begins in the hands of the gardener. You capture it beautifully, Viv. I’d love to share a slice of pie with you, but this lovely poem will have to do. 🙂

    Like

  13. snlkc says:

    What a year !

    Like

  14. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    A seasonal approach to the prompt—what a wonderful idea! (Mind if I steal it for a future Whirl?)

    Dreaming of the One

    Like

  15. Laurie Kolp says:

    Thank goodness for pumpkin pie!

    Like

  16. brian miller says:

    they do whither so fast….good though that even in dying they can still have use….and give smiles in that pie….

    Like

  17. What a delightful poem and yes, the pumpkin pie just leapt from the page and set my mouth watering. So clever these months of the year.

    Like

  18. The foodie in me wants a pumpkin pie. Lovely poem.

    Like

  19. How wonderful to get your own pumpkins… seems to be a lot of work to get it..

    Like

  20. What a clever post and here I was wondering if I would see pumpkins here in Normandy. Email me and will see about connecting. Internet only when I stop somewhere that has free wifi! josslps@gmail.com

    Like

  21. oldegg says:

    When do have time to write with all your gardening?

    Like

  22. Shah Wharton says:

    I loved being taken through your busy year Viv. X

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

