What a Day

Following two days during which we were lulled into a false sense of security, with directed and sometimes lively discussions about poetry, and delightful evening readings. Today the thumbscrews were produced:  concentrated timed exercises in silence (painful for most of us!) which stretched us to the limits and beyond, all designed to free us from cliché and banal thinking.  The penultimate exercise was to write a 25 word poem from the previous free-ranging wordplay.  We were given three minutes.  Here is mine.  The set title was:

The Road Home

Where I’ve been, who I’ve seen,
what was said, and so and so’s dead.

    Concentrate

Will he be there?
What mood is he in?

    Concentrate   


Finally, we were asked – as in all the exercises – to meditate with eyes shut on the given title.  This time it was “In the Bath”  Then we were given 4 minutes to write a poem, no word count, but how much can you write in 4 minutes? The resultant read-round was hilarious.  I may or may not post my poem at a later date…

After dinner we spent an hour reading, one poem each in turn and then round again until we ran out of time, which whizzed by happily until Rosie and I were taken by Jock up to the village for our hostess’s choir open evening.  A good sing with a congenial crowd finished a perfect, exhausting day.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, short poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What a Day

  1. ManicDdaily says:

    Sounds great and I really like your cocentrate poem, road home. Such unusual combinations and though patterns. K

    Like

  2. Misky says:

    Sounds absolutely delightful!

    Like

  3. We have our joyful Viv back! So glad you’re enjoying the week 🙂

    Like

  4. Kulasa says:

    “perfect exhausting day” love that phrase..could only be said by someone who appreciates life so much…I would love to read your 4-minute written poem! 🙂 blessed day….

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply