Marscegenation

I wrote a sci-fi story once –
not at all my genre –
about a colony of green snails
living life on Mars.
If you can take the lisping,
bad puns and the like,
I’ll let you read my story –
don’t say you haven’t been warned.

Marscegenation 

‘Do you think there’s intelligent life out there anywhere?’ The three diminutive creatures were chatting during the appointed social interaction period before sleep. 

‘Well, if there is, I hope it doethn’t look like uth,’ responded the green fellow with the lisp.

‘Why ever not?’ asked Swarc.

‘I thuppothe they might do,’ replied Cecil.  ‘But it’th highly unlikely.  ‘Anyway, there must be something out there,’ broke in Oga.  ‘Have you heard the latest?  The Watchers have reported peculiar things circling us day and night.  I hope they don’t crash into us.’

‘Don’t thay that Oga.  I shan’t thleep at all if I’m worrying about uth getting annihilated.”

‘Oh, I don’t think it will be that bad.  if they are intelligent beings, they will be as interested in us as we are in them.   I dare say they will land softly on the low clouds and climb down to see what we’re about.’

And so it turned out.  After weeks of  speculation the Martians woke one morning to see three silver creatures coming towards the sleeping pod.

‘I don’t know about you Swarc and Cecil, but I’m going to have a closer look.’

‘Gosh you are brave, Oga.  They might want to eat you.’

 ‘Would you fanthy uth?  Hard outthide and thquishy inthide.’

So the three friends crept out of the pod and inched towards the rock barrier which surrounded the commune. 

                                                                   *
The three space-suited humans wondered whether to go any further.

            ‘I don’t like the look of that thing over there. I saw something moving  away from it.  What d’you think?’

            ‘Well, whatever it ith, it’th awfully thmall’  lisped Elspeth, the first woman astronaut to land on another planet.  The companions clumped across the dusty terrain towards the creatures.  Gradually the green beings became clearer.

            ‘Look, there’s nothing to be frightened of, Elspeth.  They’re only snails.  They can’t do us much harm, can they?’  The leader, Justin, reassured his colleagues.

            ‘Yes, I think we can safely approach for a closer look,’ agreed Bruce.

            Soon the vast difference in size became evident. 

Oga spoke up.  ‘What are you doing here? What do you want?’

            ‘My God, they speak Earthian,’  thundered Justin. ‘What on Earth are you?  Sorry, I’ll rephrase that.  What on Mars are you?  You look just like our snails, only you’re green.’

‘Oh Juthtin,’ piped up Elspeth.  ‘Aren’t they thweet? ‘

‘Sweet?  That’s not the adjective I would have chosen,’  laughed Bruce.

            At the sound of Elspeth’s murdered sibilants, Cecil slithered towards her.  ‘You talk jutht like me.  My name’th Thethil, what’th yourth       

 ‘Hello, Thethil.  My name’th Elthpeth            ‘Oh Elthpeth. It’th wonderful to hear you.  Do you think we were made for each other?’

            ‘I think tho, Thethil.’

            ‘Oh, Elthpeth, I do like your thilver thkin.’

This is for yesterday’s Where in the World prompt at the Poet’s Pub.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in fiction, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Marscegenation

  1. zongrik says:

    lisping bad puns and snails, how original

    Like

  2. Pseu says:

    What a lovely tale!

    Like

  3. hedgewitch says:

    Made me smile, viv–though I have to say, human snail attraction seems definitely alien.

    Like

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Thanks for the chuckle, Viv. Very sweet…yes, even beings from different planets can find similarities.

    Like

  5. What Claudia said… there’s someone out there (in the universe) for everyone! I really enjoyed your change in genre, and I did like the lisp, especially how it brought the two together. A tidy little story, Viv. Peace, Amy

    Like

  6. I love your lisping snail! I want one, too! Such a great story, Viv, I enjoyed this! 🙂

    Like

  7. Chazinator says:

    This is really funny and sweet. To tell you the twuth, doing lithps is probably a talent! I could really see this as a children’s story. Kids love stories like thith, ethpecially about critters and other worlds. Lovely to read. Thank you for coming by.

    Like

  8. Tilly Bud says:

    I remember this!

    Like

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    This is very fun! A lisp makes sense with snails since they sort of drag along. k.

    Like

  10. Hahaha…I’m truly laughing my little socks off here Viv… That was a sweet and HILARIOUS read!
    As a kid I used to listhp too, so I found it even more funny! Hahaha..still giggling. Delightful story!

    Like

  11. Laurie Kolp says:

    So cute… entertaining, Viv. I’m glad you shared your story. Had to laugh at Earthian…

    Like

  12. Victoria says:

    sthay, thayth’s cute. not my genre, either. :>0

    Like

  13. rosemary mint says:

    The lisp truly does make the piece. Very creative, Viv. 🙂

    Like

  14. brian miller says:

    haha too funny them talking like each other…love may be blind eh? but a slug…errr….this is fun…the lisps made me smile…and it is interesting them wondering too if there is life out there…

    Like

  15. claudia says:

    haha…what an enjoyable write…love the lisping….and there are folks that are just seem being meant for each other…common ground…loved it viv…smiles

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply