Triolet – the Song

This is the second of my borrowed first line poems – this time borrowed from Charles Causley.

pine-siskin © dave-wendelken

I am the song that sings that little bird—
the one just there, the brown one, yellow wings;
the sweetest music I have ever heard.
I am the song that sings a little bird,
the notes so pure, yet trilling.  It’s absurd
how hard to quell the sadness when I sing
that lovely song that sings a little bird
to please me, that brown one with yellow wings.

Loosely linked to Margo Roby’s Imagistic Prompt

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, short poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Triolet – the Song

  1. This is so happy; I’m smiling!

    Like

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    This is lovely Viv; really pretty.

    Like

  3. Patti says:

    I love this, Viv. And I really liked your response to one of the comments about it being a happy accident. More than once, I’ve been in the middle of a comment on someone’s blog, and realized that the words I was typing were a poem being born. Most of what I write is a happy accident.

    Like

  4. Victoria says:

    This is so lovely…I enjoy birds so much. We have a Mourning Dove Mama nesting on our front porch and saw the first oriole of the season at our oriole feeder just a few moments ago. :0)

    Like

  5. anjum wasim dar says:

    lovely bird song poem-you always bring up the unique style which is thoroughly enjoyable

    Like

  6. margo roby says:

    Oy! I love this. As Misky says, charming, but a little something more. Quite lovely, ViV

    Like

    • vivinfrance says:

      One of those happy accidents, Margo. I’d finished the first exercise ahead of time. We’d been talking about triolets and this one popped into my head in about 3 minutes.

      Like

  7. Misky says:

    A very charming little piece that really made me smile … which I really need with this drip-drip-drip miserable weather we’re having.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply