love poemlets

I really am useless at love poetry.  So I chose to write my http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/poetic-asides/poetry-prompts/2011-november-pad-chapbook-challenge-day-15  contribution using the http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/ prompt to make a list of memory jogging words and use them to write poemlets.  My first few words were the jog that sent me back more than a quarter of a century to how I met my husband.

Love poemlets

blind date, unwanted, unasked
by disillusioned divorcee

delicious dancing banished loneliness
funny stories first time heard

lives blended, families merged
in ventures blithely undertaken

all passion spent,  the love remains
comfortable, comforting

through rarely thick and often thin
mutual dependence intertwined

with constant laughter

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to love poemlets

  1. Kelly E. says:

    Viv – I beg to differ; you are *not* useless at love poetry! This rang true for me. I love how the story unfolds from the first date to courtship to “comfortable, comforting.” Very well done.

    Like

  2. Viv, sounds like a great formula to me. Love poemlets? What else is there except the sweet sound of laughter? I really enjoyed reading this poem. Thanks, Donald

    Like

  3. nan says:

    I loved this poem, Viv. Sweet, comforting and it gives an unexpected spark to those who think they don’t want, won’t ask, for love to bloom again.

    Like

  4. Yousei Hime says:

    My favorite is the very last line, nothing feels sweeter.

    Like

  5. What a lovely set of poemlets intertwined, Viv.

    Pamela

    Like

  6. wayne says:

    I like this very much Viv…nicely done…nicely blended

    Like

  7. irene says:

    A slice of true life, I mean, love. Life & love is a blend.

    Like

  8. Tilly Bud says:

    A simple declaration of true love is more satisfying than flowery words. Delightful.

    Like

  9. Victoria says:

    From my pov on the life spectrum, this is true love. Understated, enduring and seasoned with a touch of humor.

    Like

  10. ceciliag says:

    with constant laughter.. the very best ingredient! c

    Like

  11. ladynimue says:

    very sweet 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply