To the End of Words

Poetic Bloomings in its new persona wants us to use a line from another poet’s work. My choice, “to the end of words ” is a line from the Call by Elizabeth Crawford – a poem that has inspired me ever since I first read it nearly four years ago. My words are coming with difficulty just now – like drawing teeth! So my poem is brief, but every word is heartfelt.


We’ll communicate
until the end of words
love, humour and hope,
instruction, stories and aid,
And when words fail us,
we can always smile
and laugh and hug.
Our humanity
demands it.

The words having run out, this is all I have to offer for Open Link Night at dVerse poet’s pub.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, short poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to To the End of Words

  1. poetrypea says:

    Quite brilliant, especially if you have writers block.

    Like

  2. tigerbrite says:

    Lovely Viv. We all need love and a hug. I could almost hear Leonard Cohen singing ‘dance me to the end of love’.

    Like

  3. brian miller says:

    our humanity demands the connection you know
    be it words, or touch or even a look…smiles.

    Like

  4. claudia says:

    there are times when i’m lost for words – or simply don’t wanna talk and it’s a blessing that there is communication beyond words… i read once that we communicate much more with our gestures and actions than we do with words

    Like

  5. Colin Morgan says:

    Hi. I often find that a poem stops when it is written – there is no more to write. (The flow just stops -sometimes they are very short!) This is a good case in point – it does not need more. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    This is beautiful, Viv. So true, and I can see it is heartfelt…at the end of life (either our own or someone else’s) we can hopefully STILL continue to smile and hug.

    Like

  7. MarinaSofia says:

    Patience, am sure your words will start flowing again, Viv! In the meantime, please accept my smiles and hugs.

    Like

  8. These are important.. Love your hope for humanity.. So hopeful and pleasant.

    Like

  9. Beautiful, hopeful words.

    Like

  10. Pat Hatt says:

    Even when one can’t speak or be understood, a simple touch can go a long way

    Like

  11. Pseu says:

    Lovely

    Like

  12. thehutts says:

    Mum this is lovely! The words work for me and according to the photo I saw on facebook you are being very creative with your patchwork at the moment as well. Sally

    Like

  13. 1sojournal says:

    Viv, you honor me and my words. You may think they are difficult but you nailed them into reality. I spent the last days of my father’s life nursing him. He had pancreatic cancer and slowly slipped into a semi coma state from which he surfaced at one point and was trying to speak but no one could understand what he was asking for. I asked if he wanted Mom and he nodded. She came and sat with him, they smiled at one another and touched hands as he slowly fell back into a deeper slumber. That is the image I used to close my most “famous” poem…Front Porch Partners. Your words brought it all back and I sincerely thank you.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  14. colonialist says:

    I like it!
    I could do one on that theme, in only four words:
    Total shock –
    Writer’s block! 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply