Silly

 

There was a blue elephant in the room
quite normal, you’d think
if you’d had wine to drink.
He was trying to climb a tree
which was waving about –
a delphinium tree –
quite unable to take his weight.
So I rushed for a stake
to support it, you see,
then stood back to allow
him to grab at a bough.
How kind Ma’am, he said,
with a bow of his head,
and curled his long trunk
round the trunk of the tree,
trying to jump unsuccessfully.
The tree fell with a thump.
Splat –
and that
was the end of the elephant
and me.

We Write Poems wanted daft,
so that’s what they’ve got,
for Napowrimo, day 22.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in nonsense poems, rhyming poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silly

  1. Well, he tried. At least he was a gentleman. But poor tree! And poor you. 😦

    -Nicole

    Like

  2. JInksy says:

    Right up my street, this one Viv – or do I mean down my alley? LOL ♥

    Like

  3. How whimsical! 🙂

    Like

  4. I love it! I bet Fraser will, too 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply