Christmas?

Trifecta wants  33 words on our feelings about what Americans call “The Holidays” and what we call Christmas, though it is sometimes rather pompously called The Festive Season .

 

We go through the motions –
it’s not the same without children
squabbling and asking for tat,
and relations stirring up aggro:
I can do very well without that,
so I’m wishing for peace.

Have a happy Christmas

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, Poems, short poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Christmas?

  1. Lindy Lee says:

    Yes, “peace”…

    Like

  2. Draug419 says:

    I’m wishing for peace too (:

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    The M~A~G~I~C of Christmas resides in tiny sticky fingers grasping for the next package from the pile amid “oohs” and “aahs.”

    As adults . . . most of the M~A~G~I~C is missing. Probably because we see the bills, and have to entertain the troops, and already have MORE than ENOUGH.

    Like

  4. granny1947 says:

    I agree with you Viv…just not the same without the little ones.

    Like

  5. It’s not the same when the kids grow up, but it’s still fun 🙂

    Like

  6. Peace is an acceptable alternative to the innocence and hopefulness of children. Children do make Christmas, without them, Christmas loses its spirit. I think so anyway. Happy Christmas full of peace and good tidings!

    Like

  7. Peace and blessings to all.

    Like

  8. Tara R. says:

    Both of my kids are older too. It’s just not the same holiday without little children. Peace is a good alternative to wish for.

    Like

  9. Peace a big word , May it cover our world like a quilt on a feather bed!

    Like

  10. Lumdog says:

    Peace is always the best wish. I miss the kids too!

    Like

  11. Kim Song says:

    Made me feel sad… but Merry Christmas anyways

    Like

  12. siggiofmaine says:

    I wish you peace and joy also…
    all I wish for for Christmas is Peace and Quiet. Unless the cat is noisy,
    this year it may be possible.☺.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply