patchwork inspiration

 

These images shout ‘quilt’ at me,
set me wondering how to make them.
The colours draw me in,
make my fingers itch
to cut and stitch those
complex shapes.
Piecing or appliqué –
could they be simplified?
That nubbly textured paper
lends itself to stipple quilting –
by hand or by machine?
I love a challenge,
but I wonder, is this a bridge too far?
Should  I stop before I start?

I love Jinksy’s images, and this week’s  In Tandem prompt is a cracker.
http://pens-poems.blogspot.com/ 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems, quilts and pictures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to patchwork inspiration

  1. Viv, since I am stitching-challenged, I have no problem encouraging you to make something of these patches, hee hee! (I tried to learn to knit once… I still have the piece. I call it “The World’s Largest Mess of Yarn.” Amy

    Like

  2. Ann Grenier says:

    Good idea! I definitely see the quilts now. I used to make them but too old for a project like that ; I’ll stick with the word creations:-)

    Like

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    Go for it! There’s nothing you can’t do 🙂

    Like

  4. Renee Espriu says:

    I think applique would be beautiful with either or both of these and after seeing your work I’m sure you would be up to the task. Beautiful!

    Like

  5. Doctor FTSE says:

    Stop before you start! Never! Your quilt will be brilliant.

    Like

  6. SG says:

    Lovely! Both together!

    Like

  7. jabblog uk says:

    They would be a marvellous start to a quilt.

    Like

  8. jinksy says:

    Viv – get that needle flashing! A quilt is a cracking idea – watch your email addy for more squares. Thanks for pedalling the Tandem again.♥

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply