Cinquains

Margo Roby over at Tuesday Tryouts:  gave us some detailed guidelines for writing cinquains which you can find on her site.  Basically, 2, 4, 6, 8, 2 words or syllables  I have tried to write one of each of her examples.

Personal Cinquain


I
old woman
would-be poet
who can’t stop trying –
futile

 
regular cinquain

Birdsong …
where did it go?
the hunters killed them all
for sport, for fun, in cruelty.
so sad.

Birdsong…
is coming back
No more do hunters shoot –
they’ve better things to do than kill.
Be glad.

A copy change cinquain replacing the second line of
These be …
Two silent things…

These be…
three kindly things:
a kiss, a hug, sweet words
trying to show the love I feel
for you.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cinquains

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Thank you, Margo, Pamela, Tilly and Earlybird. I loved the forms – having struggled mightily at first, they just fell into place.

    Like

  2. pamelasayers says:

    Glad I found these, Viv. My favourite is also the last one. I like Margo’s site, she does get you to flex the poetry muscles.

    Pamela

    Like

  3. margo roby says:

    I like the last one very much [you’re too hard on I in the first!], but there is something about the triad that works as a form of cinquain. But I like even more the pair answering each other, or bookending, a then and now.

    Like

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    I like these, Viv, but the last is my favourite.

    Like

  5. earlybird says:

    Delightful, Viv.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply