Triumphant

Writers Island prompt today is the word “triumphant”, which caused me to wonder…

Triumphant for Writers Island 

Hymns are spattered with that word triumphant.
But what does it really mean?
For one man to triumph, does another fall?

Triumph over adversity –
from which word comes adversary –
Need I say more?

But wait a minute.
Would it be a triumph
to conquer my faults?

I could be my own enemy,
so that virtue would ensue.
Onward to victory!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Triumphant

  1. pamela says:

    Viv a very nice way of looking at it.
    Pamela

    Like

  2. RJ says:

    Wow! What an interesting inner monologue. I love how you used the words to turn around triumph (as a broad and ‘adversarial’ concept) into into something so specific and hopeful.

    Like

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    I like your take on this prompt, Viv. You nicely suggest the duality of human nature.

    Like

  4. gospelwriter says:

    Very interesting – I like the question and response format of your poem. The final stanza took me completely by surprise, one of those ‘Aha!’ sort of moments.

    I could be my own enemy,
    so that virtue would ensue.
    Onward to victory!

    Brilliant!

    Like

  5. I like what you did with the word prompt! Triumphant!

    Like

  6. It is an interesting write!

    Like

  7. The hymns we had didn’t focus so much on the “triumphant” part, but there you go. You’ve inverted it in a wise way… triumph can’t exist without someone’s defeat. Well put!

    Like

  8. Growing up Episcopalian, I remember well the hymns of Triumph, God’s Army, Victory, etc. and they always left me feeling the same – why does someone have to lose for God to win? Your poem took us beyond that, and I loved every word.

    Won’t be around much until Feb, when our move to Madison is complete, but wishing you a peaceful Christmas, Solstice, and New Year, Amy

    Like

  9. brenda w says:

    Onward to conquering then, although for me it would be a truly daunting task. hee hee! (Perhaps I’ll just embrace my faults.)
    ~Brenda

    Like

  10. 1sojournal says:

    Love it Viv. Reminds me of that whole thing about taking care of the plank in your own eye, before pointing out the sliver in someone else’s.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Reflections says:

    Clever take, I like what you have done here… we should all be triumphant over our own faults. Lovely thoughts.

    Like

  12. deborah says:

    I wasn’t finished … I loved it! :o)

    Like

  13. deborah says:

    Thoughtful and cleverly written,

    Like

  14. derrick2 says:

    Nice way of looking at it, Viv. Which of you shall be victorious?!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply