a silly sestina

Someone on BigTent Poetry was talking about a prompt to write a canzone – an even more complex form than the sestina.  This reminded me of this poem, written to let off steam when in the painful throes of an assignment to write Villanelle, Pantoum, Sestina and Sonnet. 

 

A SILLY SESTINA in which the keywords are all anagrams of each other

An art, a madness, poetry –
lines of words in symmetry. Type or
write in best handwriting. Check re typos.
Poets can be amateur or yet pro,
who commit verbal hari-kiri, prey to
wilful publishers who pronounce: ‘yep, rot.’

Much that’s written cries out ‘Yep. Rot.’
An evil calumny on poetry
that upsets poets prey to
problems of a verbal type or
tantrums, mental crises. Even yet, pros
can’t be fagged to check re typos.

Typesetters used to be guilty re typos,
resulting in print – you’ve guessed it – yep, rot.
Nowadays computers make light work, yet pro
or amateur slips up in poetry
sometimes when they write or type or
even read aloud, they’re prey to

make mistakes, miss words or letters, prey to
be misunderstood by critics re typos,
condemning poems of a certain type or
going overboard for flowery stuff.  Yep, rot.
These are the disadvantages of poetry
which handicap amateur poet or yet pro.

 Mistakes are often made, yet pro
poets fail to see that they are prey to
spoiling what could be wonderful poetry.
As for amateurs, their lack of care re typos
produces what can only be described as ‘yep rot.’
I wish they’d learned to type or 

check their work of this type or
dictate it to a proper typist, yet pro
and amateur, both guilty of – ‘yep rot’ –
so silly that they’re prey to
unwarranted criticism re typos.
Please, just concentrate on writing poetry

of sestina type or  maybe villanelle, prey to
misinterpretation, yet pro can overcome, with care re typos
and thus prevent the incantation ‘yep, rot’ when writing prose or poetry

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to a silly sestina

  1. Luke Prater says:

    great concept! and pulled of with some aplomb

    Like

  2. Wow, you mastered what I sturggle so with. Superb. Iinspired me. I like the way you just didn’t write the definition of form, but used the form to define what you are saying. Greatness.

    Poet’s Reach

    Like

  3. hollyheir says:

    Brava! Not only clever but making the words work for you rather than the other way ’round. The only thing I can say is, it’s a good thing you didn’t overlay iambic pent as well or we’d all have to lay down our pens and say, “we’re rot”. Excellent. Thanks for linking!

    Like

  4. a tough form made tougher – your fearless masochism paid dividends here viv – a sensation of humor and intelligence imbued with your technical prowess

    Like

  5. C Rose says:

    Really enjoyed, especially your rhyme and slight word play in the form end words. ~ Rose

    Like

  6. Bodhirose says:

    Totally entertaining–and so much fun. You are so creative. I’d like to give this form another try some time–it was a challenge for me.

    Like

  7. My maiden name is Graham so Anna Graham always made my English teachers smile. What a challenge you set here in using them as the keywords.

    Like

    • vivinfrance says:

      I must be a masochist, as I’m always finding ways to challenge myself over and above the challenges inherent in writing to form. I think my poetry suffers, but it keeps my ageing brain from stultifying!

      Like

  8. poemblaze says:

    This is really fun! An excellent stab at a sestina, and I will never say “Yep, rot” about this.

    Like

  9. Laurie Kolp says:

    Funny, Viv. Although traditional sestinas have lines similar in length, this works well… and anagrams! Very clever!

    Like

  10. brian says:

    haha…very creative…this was a fun read…nice play on the form…and i appreciate the feeling…smiles.

    Like

  11. Window Lad says:

    ..oh, anagrams in a Sestina – how cleverly! a tough form with a tough application and now you had me inspired! Amazing!(:

    Good day!

    ~Kelvin

    Like

  12. As a big fan of anagrams, this elicited a broad smile 🙂

    Like

  13. vivinfrance says:

    It did me, at the time. I wonder if I’ve recovered…

    Like

  14. derrick2 says:

    That would have driven me mad, I think!

    Like

  15. susanne says:

    I remember that assignment, Viv – it was painful…I admired the way you tackled all the different forms (I was hopeless). Still reading this and what Amy’s comment makes me think it’s time to have another go!

    Like

  16. Yep rot. I love it! I go back and forth with forms now; used to hate them. Still unsure about sestina, for me, it’s too much math!

    Great work, Viv.

    Like

  17. tillybud says:

    I remember this. It’s clever.

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply