A sucker for punishment

After my last demoralising participation in a poetry workshop recently I am putting my head back on the block this week.  I love RV Bailey’s poetry, and am hoping to put back the zest in my own after a week in her company at the Mill with other poets, starting this morning.   So I shan’t be around much this week to read and respond to your posts.  Apologies in advance for those I miss.

Morning Pages

There’s a snail outside my bedroom window
glued to the glass for dear life.
He’s been inching up since I woke
an hour ago. He reached the top,
curled his head against the frame
and now he’s slithering sideways.
I wonder what he’s looking for.
He reminds me of George Formby,
though it’ll be me cleaning the windows.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A sucker for punishment

  1. I had to look up George Formby. Otherwise, I thought this was a neat little slice of sun-kissed life. Sometimes the simple, straightforward descriptions of moments are the best.

    Like

  2. Jo Woolf says:

    Love this!

    Like

  3. I love that glimpsing moment slowed down, literally, to a slugs pace. I hope you have a wonderfully inspired time at this workshop. Smiles!!

    Like

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    Lovely ending 🙂 I would change ‘for dear life’.

    Enjoy the week! Missing you already 🙂 xx

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    Adorable. Hope your week fills you with enthusiasm!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply