Before I go,

 

I just finished this tonight.  The piecing of the jelly roll design didn’t take very long, but I seem to have been hand-quilting those spirals for weeks!

 detail of the spirals.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Before I go,

  1. thehutts says:

    This is lovely and Fraser loves it where it is. On his bed when he comes to stay!

    Like

  2. Jingle says:

    Thursday Poets Rally Week 29 (Sept 23-29)

    hello, friend:

    I invite you to Attend Thursday Poets Rally Week 29, linking in a poem by commenting,

    Happy Friday!

    I thought you are on vacation,
    u can still come, deadline is next Wednesday, thus you are in time.

    Like

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Thank you Barbara. The spirals are in the middle blocks (18 of them). The fill-in triangles round the edge were of necessity concentric circles. The picture is not very good! Yes, I do quite a lot of hand piecing. I am now at the final quilting stage of a long wall-hanging consisting of hand pieced illusion blocks in golds and browns. I don’t know what to do next, but no doubt the ideas will surface during the quilting process.

    Like

  4. barbara says:

    Beautiful colors. I seem to be into golds right now–that’s a pretty one in the border.
    I couldn’t see the spirals. The picture makes the quilting look like concentric arcs and semicircles. Do you hand piece, too?

    Like

  5. vivinfrance says:

    eek! Think of the cost of the glass. Though, come to think of it, I could codge something similar up from scraps.

    Like

  6. derrick2 says:

    Super colourful quilt, Viv. You could use that pattern for a stained glass window!

    Like

  7. vivinfrance says:

    ? Piecing: making the patchwork top. Quilting spirals: In order to link the colours more together, I quilted each block (little running stitches through 3 layers) in freehand spirals, very close together. I managed about 1 spiral an evening. Jelly roll: is a variety of fabrics, pre-cut into 2 1/2″ strips, rolled up (when they look absolutely gorgeous) and tied with a ribbon for sale, almost enough to make a single-bed quilt top. I had to add some extra fabrics – mainly to balance the light coloured ones.

    Like

  8. Tilly Bud says:

    I love this; it’s beautiful and I can see the work that has gone into it. But can you please translate your comments into English?

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply