I believe, for carry on Tuesday

Just a little one for http://carryontuesdayprompt.blogspot.com/ where the prompt was to use the first line of HG Wells’s War of the Worlds – No-one would believe.

I believe

that no-one would believe
I could be this old –
more in hope than expectation

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I believe, for carry on Tuesday

  1. weighty says:

    gonna send this to my mom

    Like

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    This one is perfect, Viv. 🙂

    Like

  3. pravin nair says:

    Wow loved this 🙂

    and thanks a lot for ur kind comment on my poem ‘river of thought’ on my blog..apologies for the delayed response..thnk you so mmuch !

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Ya know, Viv, my father said, “Old is always ten years older than you are.” I always remember thee words and believe them, more NOW than I did back then!!

    Like

  5. Jingle says:

    well done

    prepare a poem, join me for Poets Rally tomorrow.

    Like

    • vivinfrance says:

      Jingle, I shan’t be around tomorrow – on a ferry/on the road/in the air, back home Monday. Sorry about Poets Rally – I may be able to do something Friday, as am taking a memory stick.
      V

      Like

  6. vivinfrance says:

    Thank you all. When I was about 35, the mother of two hulking schoolchildren, this salesman (what else) rang the bell, and when I answered, wearing my sunshine yellow minidress and bouffant hairdo, he said “Hello, dear. Is your mother in?” And I was naive enough to believe him to be an honest man rather than a crafty old codger!

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    I haven’t a clue what to say because I’m still laughing in agreement with the sentiment. Love this Viv. It’s so honest and delightful. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Deborah says:

    Smiles … I like this!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply