6-word-saturday

Been nowhere, seen nothing, what’s new?

Actually, I lie.  On Thursday I had a nice gossipy crafty afternoon at our friends’ new house – Jo is reviving our long-term habit of what Jock calls Stitch and Bitch.  The tradition goes back 25 years to when we were first here, when about a dozen of us, mostly Brits, would crowd into Marian’s living room to share our crafting:  knitting, sewing, quilting, crochet, tatting, etc.  When Marian went back to UK, we transferred to my house, but people disappear and do other things and by the time we moved here, it had dwindled to two or three.

From way back:  

Sewing Group

A blether of female friends
gathered round a well-laid table,
nattering, laughing,
filling faces with cake,
sipping tea and gossip –
this is how we
gratify our  need
for company,
satisfy our greed.

or this haibun from even further back

Seven ladies of uncertain age, knitting or sewing and chatting around my table, demolish my apple cake and several mugs of tea.  Not much needle work is done.  The gossip is usually of the kind kind.

Babble of Babel
tri-lingual sewing bee
English, French, drivel

I couldn’t find any pictures of us worth repeating, though you might enjoy the cake

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 6-word-saturday

  1. Jock cracks me up!
    I was sorry not to get the opportunity to sit with the ladies when I visited; I had read so much about them over the years.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your ‘Sewing Group’ poem really made me laugh.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Allison says:

    For me, my gossipy creative times happen when I get together with writing friends. We talk about manuscripts, work, family, etc. Ah, good days!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ron. says:

    Love the haibun, V, esp the “kind kind” of gossip.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d love to be part of a Stitch and Bitch group. Some friends and I did talk about it, but the arrival of puppies in their lives put an end to our plans!
    I like the use of ‘blether’ – I don’t use it as much as I should considering that a good blether is something I enjoy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. angie says:

    this would be a very fun time to get together with friends
    come see us at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How fun…Bitch and Stitch. Love it. My six words:
    Rescued baby bird. Blue jay ate.
    I’m bummed. A tiny baby sparrow fell from his nest. I put him back and checked later. His little head was sticking out of the bird house and mom was nearby. A minute later the blue jay came, grabbed it and I watched as he dined. It hurts and such is nature.

    Like

  8. Mlissabeth says:

    I know that nice feeling of being with a group for an afternoon. My group is a prayer shawl ministry group that meets during the day, once a month. I am happy that I can return, since my paid work is completed for the school year. I always enjoy getting together with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. restlessjo says:

    Uncertain age. I always like that expression. (have you noticed whenever I say ‘no more Cate’ she pops up again? 🙂 )

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Misky says:

    This sounds wonderful! Hope your weekend is lovely (and dry!)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. katechiconi says:

    I am acquainted with a very similar cake, which, once I’m able to stand in the kitchen again, I will be making to satisfy my need for something lavishly delicious as a reward for recent strife.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

