Say not the struggle naught availeth

Yesterday I was struggling with a single Dresden Plate block for Kate in Queensland, finished today.   Never has so much time, effort and angst produced such a pathetic result. I will send it off anyway, in case she can cannibalise it into something useful.

IMG_1296

I have found some different templates, and will attempt to redeem myself with another attempt, but don’t hold your breath.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Say not the struggle naught availeth

  1. Joss says:

    Dresden Plate is one of my favourite patterns and, yet, every so often, it just goes wonky and won’t settle down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katechiconi says:

    Viv, it looks fine from here. Maybe I’ll see something a bit wonk when I get it, but from here it looks OK, and don’t forget that the quilting may hide a multitude of sins. I might try something elaborate on that block, and then all you’ll see is my dodgy quilting🙂.
    It’s been a long day, first the flight and then more scans. Appointment tomorrow. I’ll be turning in soon…

    Like

  3. tialys says:

    It doesn’t look pathetic at all Viv! I got cocky with some paper piecing today – I’m determined to send more ‘accomplished’ blocks to everybody in the F2F block swap this time round – and then had to unpick at the last hurdle. I think I’ve rescued it though. I used templates for my Dresden Plate from a book I bought when I first started doing patchwork when my girls were small and I joined a group that met every two weeks. We each made a sampler quilt – talk about initiation by fire – and it was a book by Lynne Edwards (good name that😉 ). All 12 inch blocks starting easy and progressing through all the methods to the hardest. Having said that, I’ve made that Plate several times with no problems and had to chuck the last effort in the bin. Shall we call it hormonal? Or the law of Sod?

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

