Hello, Goodbye

notre-dame-spire_orig-ps straightened by Neil

 

 

Thankful the day’s about to end ─
goodbye to pain and irritation
farewell to cold precipitation
deplored in May, when leaves,
new grown, pretend
it’s summer.

I thank the Lord the day is come
to banish restless night
with lingering mist soon to succumb
to meagre sunshine, not so bright
bringing illusion of summer.

 

sunrise-8-3-16-ps straightened by Neil

 

This is Abbrah’s final prompt as host at the poets’ pub  dVerse.   She asks us to write a farewell regretted poem, and we do regret saying goodby to her;   while at Poetic Bloomings they ask for an Aubade, a dawn poem.  I have combined the two.

I’ve straightened the spire sunset pic umpteen times, but each time it goes back to leaning to the left.  Perhaps when it was replaced after the hurricane of Christmas 1999 it decided to lean to remind us of that calamitous night.  Or perhaps it’s my own inability to use the software properly, as the sunrise pic is also sloping.  The spire was taken from our kitchen window at the front and the sunrise from our patio.

PS  Neil Reid very kindly straightened the pictures for me.  Thank you, Neil.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in pictures, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Hello, Goodbye

  1. Liesbet says:

    Summer will come!🙂 There is nothing that brightens the spirits as well as a (perfectly) blue sky! I write this as it is literally pouring down rain all day long. A time to stay inside and catch up on stuff in the house. Tomorrow will be a better day!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SMiLes.. ha!
    moNey hELd No
    yiELd to mE oF noW
    dreAMs iN SnoWy
    North way foR A
    bigGeR ciTy greateR
    waY oF doLLar biLLs..
    haX2!.. to leave thE
    Paradise of North
    Florida for money dreaMs..
    no fool.. i.. as poor.. LoVes liKe
    A KinG’s Tree oF
    liFE nOW..
    iN ParaDise
    ReaL.. FriEnd.. Viv..;)

    Like

  3. tialys says:

    Lovely photos – tilted or not😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. thotpurge says:

    What a lovely view of that spire from your window!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Marie-Jo says:

    I have a penchant for these pictures and this poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joss says:

    how lovely that your house is such that you can view both sunrise and sunset.
    I have a few pictures that insist on being upside down no matter what I do!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Waltermarks says:

    Very picturesque, I hope summer arrives in earnest as well. I don’t know why, except the rain seems endless

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A perfect blend of two prompt to come up with one great poem, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Victoria says:

    Goodbye to pain and restlessness. Oh, dang–hello again. And so it goes. I’m reading another WWII novel, this one about women journalists, is set in Normandy. And I think of the cemetery near where I lived in St. Pern, Brittany. So much history, there. Sad history in such a beautiful corner of the world. :0(

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh yes, please give us some proper summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I hope for real summer not just pretense.. though I fear the nights will be too short as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. neil reid says:

    hi Viv. maybe, as you wish, a small gift for you. here being both your photos made to be standing up straight. no more leaning Notre Dame spire. I posted them to a blog I don’t use, so go collect them whensoever you want. they are done “full sized”. just drag them onto your desktop. thanks for being there. neil
    https://moosewords.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Such breathtaking verse…!❤

    Like

  14. I am totally envious of your views. Great poem for the subject matter. I feel that way many days. Moving slowly this morning.😦

    Liked by 1 person

  15. jmcheney says:

    Speaking of never giving up, I commented. But it doesn’t show up on my monitor. So I re-commented & was informed I’d already said that. Maybe it will turn up later. I hope so for I loved your window views of Normandy & your beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. jmcheney says:

    Lovely views from your windows. Land of Flaubert & Proust (who was so moved by Norman spires).

    Liked by 1 person

  17. katechiconi says:

    I like your end and start of day perspectives. Currently my own thoughts run along the lines of “thank God that’s over” when I go to bed, and very much the same thing when I get up! Do you want to send me those images to straighten up and return to you? Happy to do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. what a lovely poem. says it all about this year’s weather

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Misky says:

    Those photos are gorgeous, and they suit your poem perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

