Cloud Cuckoo Land

 

I’ve never been to Timbuktu
not even merely passing through
nor visited the home of Fu Man Choo
If I said I had t’would be untrue

I’ve been to lots of other places
including some wonderful open spaces
Switzerland for ski-ing races
Florence and Paris rich with graces

There must be lots I’ve never seen
countries where I wish I’d been
places where you’d need sunscreen
or jungles where the sky is green

It’s much too late to try I fear
unless I find them very near ─
at least within this hemisphere
so maybe I should just stay here.

 

Carolee Bennett’s final prompt for Napowrimo 2016 asks us to write about a place we’ve never been.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in humour, life writing, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cloud Cuckoo Land

  1. Fortunately, you live in a lovely place.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Linda says:

    I love this poem! Thank you so much for sharing and warm greetings from Montreal, Canada. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun poem!…I love those rhymes and rhythms.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel the same way about future travel but could not express it so eloquently. You have such a lovely way with words. What a fun read. Have a lovely day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. katechiconi says:

    I’ve flung my heart as far as it will go, my body following raggedly through the time zones. Here I am, and here I stay. I have a pocket full of memories of splendour, beauty, peace and pleasure, and can take them out from time to time and play with them. But when the time comes, this is what I want:
    http://www.poemhunter.com/best-poems/william-ernest-henley/margaritae-sorori

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh thank you for that, Kate. I don’t know how I have the nerve to write poems when there is so much wonderful stuff already written.

      While you were here commenting, I was over at Celie’s place, giving her this:

      ” The year’s at the spring,
      And day’s at the morn;
      Morning’s at seven;
      The hill-side’s dew-pearled;
      The lark’s on the wing;
      The snail’s on the thorn;
      God’s in His heaven—
      All’s right with the world!” (Robert Browning)

      You and I are often on the same wavelength!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Misky says:

    I absolutely adore this. And you, too! >

    Liked by 1 person

  7. fran730 says:

    I really enjoyed that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. but you have your memories of places you have been. That is worth a kings ransom ( at your age) heeheee.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

