Ode to a Mouse

Pickle's Mouse  No, not you.

 computer mouse    You!

O feckless fubsy piece of plastic
capricious device of devious devil ─
discipline your rebel arrow
wildly flying ‘cross the page.
You fail to stop at amber signal,
hide so coyly  in the margin,
sending poet red with rage.
O silent gizmo, rolling beastie,
what ails your cruel unsteady march?
You give conniptions to the user,
believing she should be in charge.
Ah, now you fail me, dourly dying,
slowly, slower, stopped.
I fumble with another plastic ─
nightmare packaging defies me
as contents roll along the floor.

O double A saviour, do your duty;
rescue me from wordless Word,
propel this rodent on its way
around the screen with fluent movement
pausing at the lightest click.
Allow manoeuvres slickly chosen –
copy, save, delete and stick,
Quickly, poet, use the lull.
Tap out words before you lose it,
use inspiration to the full.

O joyful creature, you have done it ─
allowed the words to flow,
albeit clumsily, with pauses,
but now it’s written, do I love you?
Comes emphatic answer:  NO.
 

Carolee Bennett gives us a prompt to write an ode on “practice” for Napowrimo day 25.  I know this isn’t quite what she’s asking for, but thought this one might amuse a few readers.   Since writing this  cri de coeur, I have invested in a new mouse, and all those problems are a thing of the past.

Also linked for dVerse Open Link Night   Do visit the pub to see some lovely poetry.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, humour, story poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Ode to a Mouse

  1. Bryan Ens says:

    I love how your ode is all the things you hate rather than love. So humorous! At work, I use a computer with 2 screens, so that silly arrow has even more places to hide!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kanzensakura says:

    Because of my husband’s disability, we have one of those roller balls on our computer….man, talk about a pain! Wish I coud find some Hogwart’s spells to avoid using either! This was a fun write and I enjoyed reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mish says:

    I love my mouse, but he behaves. This was such a fun read, Viv.🙂

    Like

  4. lillian says:

    Oh chuckling I am over my second cup this morning! Rodent indeed — rolling rodent! It’s why I always take up my pen and journal and there begin my thoughts and phrases. I only go to the computer to rearrange and edit. And — my remote mouse sits in a lovely little felt bag, stuck way back in the drawer — eating shards of dust for sure. I prefer my index finger on the little touch pad….and least it’s my finger and not a rodent!🙂 Ah….smiling I am!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. PSC says:

    LOL I feel your pain. Enjoyed this one, Viv! Lots of fun!🙂

    Like

  6. The older i get, the more frustrated I am with modern tech – and yet i love it at the same time! But I will never, ever enjoy the infernal plastic wrappings (guaranteed to shred your fingers) that all this stuff is packaged in!. Loved your poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I do love this… and though I have a mouse that has been my trusty friend through many laptops we are kind of dependent on these little beasts… (and touchpads are even worse)…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. whimsygizmo says:

    This makes me ridiculously happy:
    “O silent gizmo, rolling beastie”

    Perhaps you can guess why.😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Grace says:

    I love it, smiling a big one ~

    Liked by 1 person

  10. jillys2016 says:

    Standing ovation! I do adore word play and THIS defines that art quite wonderfully!!!! Hooray!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Charley says:

    I curse the touch pad as I laugh at your ode! Too, too funny! Too, too true.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is quite funny! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Bodhirose says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this, Viv…thanks for all the fun and I’m glad your mouse woes are in the past!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Such a delightful ode, Viv🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This one made me smile. No matter which way one works, touch pad or mouse, they will give you the devil at every opportunity. This was fun to read though your aggravation was not.😦

    Liked by 1 person

  16. tialys says:

    I use a trackball mouse and I think it’s given me tennis elbow. It’s either that or the long-handled launcher thingy I use to throw balls for the dogs. ‘Fubsy’ is a new word for me – it sounds vaguely affectionate but I’m assuming it’s not meant to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. restlessjo says:

    Love the way you rise to an occasion, Viv. 🙂 It’s a while since I used a mouse and they nearly always confound me.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. colonialist says:

    I was toying with the idea of writing an ode to a rat, but your less ambitious rodent is far better. A sad tail.
    We had a Pickle – a Devon Rex.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Misky says:

    Charming! >

    Like

  20. katechiconi says:

    Rabbie Burns would be proud! Yet one more reason for me why I use either the touch pad or a wired mouse on my lappie. The battery ones are just plain cranky!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. oh technology gone wrong

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Gosh. I feel your mouse woe …I’ve experienced similar. It’s more than infuriating to have words slowed by faulty machinery. Love the mouse sketch!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I love this! I laughed hard because I had mouse problems today and I was ready to kill it.

    Wonderful ode.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

