6-word-Saturday

Just finished a project — now what?

Kate's 4 teal blocks

The project was to make 4 x 12 1/2″ blocks for Kate Chiconi who is making a quilt using the colours Teal and cream or beige for a fundraising quilt for ovarian cancer.  I started with the idea of a pineapple block, and the first one (top left) was pretty dreadful.  By the time I’d made the fourth one, I was getting the hang of it!  I loathe paper piecing – which would have been the obvious method, so struggled on with measuring.  The 4  blocks went in the post to Australia on Thursday.  

Although I found it so difficult, I do like how it looks, so I’m thinking of making a pineapple quilt with scraps.  Watch this space …

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. restlessjo says:

    They all look remarkably difficult to me. I can just about sew a button or do cross stitch. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those are wonderful! I have not tried that pattern as the simple patterns give me grief already. Not sure what I keep doing wrong. Love the teal colors. Let me know if you got the slide show to work, please. I haven’t heard from anyone else if they had a problem. But it’s quite early here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mlissabeth says:

    Good to see these squares done already. I am sure Kate will love them, as do I.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the way those turned out. Looking good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tialys says:

    Interesting that you loathe paper piecing. I was thinking about giving it a go at some stage as I like the results. I’ll let you know how I get on! Don’t overdo it and have a lazy day if you feel like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kim881 says:

    Beautiful designs, Viv!

    Like

  7. katechiconi says:

    Viv, these are so lovely. I think a lovely tropical coloured pineapple block would be amazing, but that’s my colour taste – you’ll probably have different ideas. I’ll look forward to a squishy package in the mail!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

