6-word-Saturday

Situation normal:  the rain is back

But signs of Spring are creeping in all over the place.  I’ve been keeping tabs of next door’s magnolia tree for signs of bursting buds, and yesterday there was definitely some
colour at the top of the tree, though I think a little more warmth is needed for the buds to open fully.


Jock has been busy all week transferring his designs onto the boards of our Carneval float,
having nightmares because the Committee des Fètes had bought silk finish paint instead of matt emulsion to cover last year’s design and they had to sand every inch before the colour would stick.

I have managed to assemble the main part of my scrappy quilt in somewhat eccentric fashion, and am now making a border/binding out of chevrons of leftover strips.

wonky hexagon quilt chevrons
It is an odd shape, and I think I will use it as a table-cloth if I ever finish it.

Do have a saunter over to read the other 6-word-Saturdays here

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, prose, quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. The weather has been changeable here – glorious sunshine & freezing wind one day and torrential rain the next, then back to sun and wind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. norma says:

    Fun quilt!
    Icey cold and gloriously sunny weather – my 6 words! Hope you’ve got better weather now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    The quilt is nice, lovely colours!
    Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your quilt reminds me of a kaleidoscope. We’ve had a bit of rain here too and I seem to have caught a head cold. Grrrr

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mlissabeth says:

    I think the buds are playing with you. They wouldn’t make it in the Midwest. We still have more frost to get through. We had a high of 14° today.

    Like

  6. oh my gosh we’ve been having EARLY spring weather- and we really need lots more rain and snow please! Happy Valentines Day!

    Like

  7. Same here. After a few days of cold frostiness we were back to the dull rain all day (though thankfully not heavy).

    Like

  8. restlessjo says:

    I quite like random, Viv 🙂 I did have a rather nice taste of Spring in the Algarve, though the grey clouds were flirting a bit too. 😦

    Like

  9. katechiconi says:

    Viv, the quilt is lovely; joyful, exuberant, colourful. Spring is peeking out of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Tonya says:

    Love the colors and the shape of the quilt! We are warmer than normal here in the Pacific Northwest, still wet though…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I LOVE what you are doing with leftover bits. All my quilts are wonky but I proceed anyway. If not for wonky, I’d have nothing to show for my days. We have not had enough winter here. We need a real long hard freeze or we will endure the mass of bugs again. Spring has been here for awhile now and it worries me. Looking forward to seeing the end result.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. tialys says:

    Strange weather! Pouring with rain yesterday with a forecast of snow for Sunday and yet today, Saturday, it’s lovely sunshine and around 16 degrees.
    Your scrappy project is looking good.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ron. says:

    I’m jealous, V; we’re still very much winterized here, especially today, when temps will remain below 0 (F) & the wind chill will make it feel more like 20 below. And, sadly, I have to drive downstate for car maintenance. Brrrr.
    Given the opportunity, I’d crawl under even an unfinished quilt in a heartbeat.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Misky says:

    Yesterday, I saw a cherry tree ready to burst into bloom. And I do like the look of your new quilt. Very pretty. >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

