Fortune Cookie Wisdom for this Lover of Words

 

 

Your shoes will make you happy
if you take them for a walk
through woodland paths and country ways
where you might see a hawk
fly overhead.

A merry heart is healthy.
It’s always good to laugh,
for laughter promotes happiness
and helps us to outlast
the miseries.

Always keep it simple
when you try to write a verse,
the message clear and full of grace
to cheer the casual reader,
enchant or make him laugh ─
and blues disperse.

for Chinese New Year, dVerse gives us four fortune cookies as inspiration and I chose to use all four.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Fortune Cookie Wisdom for this Lover of Words

  1. restlessjo says:

    That first verse is right up my street 🙂 And yes, let’s cast those miseries out!

    Like

  2. Yes, I also love the stumbling rhythm, it makes the reader really read each word out loud in her head.. c

    Like

  3. Bryan Ens says:

    I love the rhythm and rhyme…especially rise first 2 stanzas. The last line of each stanza throws off the rhythm…but in this case, I think that’s a good thing as it fits the reader to pause and really SEE that hawk in flight, and outlast…those miseries.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sumana Roy says:

    happiness, health and simplicity well weaved…lover of words you are indeed…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thotpurge says:

    From my concrete jungle I do wish for those woodland paths!

    Like

  6. Ah.. yes.. steps
    and feats of
    words and
    shoes or
    shoeless
    alWays
    best feat
    juStiNFlow..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. you ARE a lover of words and I, a lover of your words!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Candy says:

    well, this simply made me happy 😉

    Like

  9. I love the way you splice wisdom with these and pulled them all together. Wonderful wordery, Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ah.. yes to use them all, is brilliant… To keep it simple is something I wish.. but somehow I end up weaving complications into the poem… wonderful to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m not surprised that you took it to the limit, Viv–and look how smoothly they all worked together. My shoes are happiest on those walks in nature, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh wow 😀 I love how you incorporated all those fortunes into your poem. Well done Viv 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nato says:

    Oh wow-cool that you put them all in there and in such a wonderful poem! Impressed.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. whimsygizmo says:

    NICE! Love that you got all four in there! Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Very lyrical, Viv! Love it.

    Like

  16. It worked very well! Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Mary says:

    Ha, Viv, I think you are the only one who used all of them! I enjoyed all verses…and especially the ‘keep it simple’ stanza! Also liked the idea that shoes would be happy walking through the woods. That made me smile as I pictured shoes generally being bored by walking the same paths again and again!

    Like

  18. That’s certainly wonderful Viv! You managed to use all the four given and it worked wonders.. Brave efforts successfully done!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  19. kaykuala h says:

    That’s just wonderful Viv! You managed to use all the four given and these worked wonders.. Brave efforts successfully done!

    Hank

    Like

  20. That’s just wonderful Viv! You managed it all with the four given. Brave efforts successfully done!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grace says:

    I love that you used all of them Viv ~ My favorite is a merry heart will keep you healthy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. MarinaSofia says:

    A fun weaving of influences here! I certainly agree with the first stanza!

    Like

  23. You say four, but I only see three. Am I missing something?

    I love the idea of my shoes making me happy.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

