Rain

 

This winter is the pits.  Where are the lovely sharp sunshiny frosty mornings?  Must we suffer only rain, incessant, interminable, smothering all interest in going outside to enjoy a bracing walk.  Crisp outlines of trees are nowhere to be seen ─ just misty, murky amorphous landscape, curtained intermittently by sweeping squalls.  It isn’t even cold.

Soporific rain
produces open-mouthed snores
from bored sufferer

My second attempt at a haibun for dVerse Haibun Monday, this time on prompt, writing to the photograph provided by Gabriella.  Sorry about the surfeit of adjectives!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in haibun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Rain

  1. I had to chuckle at “It isn’t even cold”. So true…if it’s going to be dreary, let there be snow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lynn__ says:

    Oh dear, sounds gloomy indeed. Whoever wrote “whatever the weather, we’ll weather the weather, whether we like it or not” ?! Hope you see the sun soon…and more than tremulous 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bastet says:

    My winter is different this year .. but how I remember those soggy winters on the Italian Riviera … totally disheartening – totally melancholy – although I lived in a villa overlooking the sea and loved when the squalls pounded the bay. You’ve described it very well in your haibun! Sorry the weather is so miserable though.

    Like

  4. SMiLes.. i suppose
    A first poem..
    inspiRed iN
    Cave oN
    Cold Winter
    day..

    Writing
    SinGs
    Coldbound..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    (Laugh.) Yes, it can get like that! Ours here is monsoonal, lately. At last we get gaps in between.

    Like

  6. Sherry Marr says:

    LOL, I hear you….endless grey here too….but we have green things poking up in the garden!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gabriella says:

    I hate that kind of winters. I remember such a mild and rainy winter a few years ago. I was so longing for cold and some blue in the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. colonialist says:

    Not exactly a shower of praise for rain! And here we are longing for the stuff. The more the merrier.

    Like

  9. I can feel the rain seeping into your brain.. c

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Suzanne says:

    I love your haiku. It sums up the feeling of being trapped by incessant rain beautifully. I am trying to reply to your comments on my blog but my tablet is having a hissy fit. I will reply later when I am on the computer.

    Like

  11. Grace says:

    Rain and dreary rain, smiles ~ At least better than covered in snow ~

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I can’t imagine having constant rain like that…brings back memories of Brittany!

    Like

  13. we are entering Rainy Season down here, although so far, it’s been mostly sunny. We had so much rain, last Spring, in Nova Scotia, I swear we were growing mold on our backsides!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. trishwrites1 says:

    ditto on what is up with winter!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Here in southern Ontario Canada is it cold at 0 C but yesterday was almost spring like and melted most of the snow. Our weather mish mash this year is a frittata of sorts. I think

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Misky says:

    We have sun today, so you can live in hope of a wind in your direction. 🙂 >

    Liked by 1 person

  17. whimsygizmo says:

    “misty, murky”…”sweeping squalls” — your word choices here are spot on, conveying the gloom you feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. We had a few weeks with wonderful winter… and here it’s not even raining… just the grey of persistent dusk…

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I love this! Describes exactly how I’m feeling today. It’s showery so I have to take a chance and walk the dogs, but I know we’ll be caught in it once we’re out.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Mary says:

    You have captured the season so very well here, Viv. I call it mid-winter blahs. Nice haibun.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. My sentiments exactly. We are FINALLY getting a cold and dry snap.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. katechiconi says:

    Drumming on the roof / gurgling in the gutters / reason to rejoice.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. we don’t have rain this morning but the wind is horrendous and people are getting blown over

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

