Hail to Thee, Blithe Spirit

 

 

Today had been a day of storms, of squalls alternating with heavy rain, sunshine and hail.  A visitor landed in the garden across the lane, brightly arrayed with auburn plumage, fluffed out against the weather.  I hurried to find the camera, clicked and zoomed and clicked again as he posed, turned, peered round at the sound, posed again and – sedately – walked away.

A cheap lens is
false economy – weak zoom
gives fuzzy pheasant.

 

 

For Haibun Monday at dVerse.  The haiku says it all – I don’t have a photo to illustrate my story!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in haibun, nature poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Hail to Thee, Blithe Spirit

  1. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Great description – and I had to laugh with your conclusion. I know that experience too well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bastet says:

    Ah Viv .. happy you caught his image in your haibun .. your haiku burns in my heart 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sreejaharikrishnan says:

    The images are perfect even without the snap…lovely!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    Gorgeous, Viv. I love that “fuzzy pheasant!”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lillian says:

    Smiling I am….at your humorous haiku today. Fuzzy pheasants and headless horsemen — my kind of pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m no good with a camera so mine would have been fuzzy as well. Your haibun is a clear photo though so I did get to see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The sounds in poetry transfer texture and image as well as the meaning of words. I think that was true in ancient haiku and is evident in yours here. We see the fuzzy pheasant..and the out of focus photo as well. I liked this a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A haibun or haiku: the words used is meant to create the image. I often wonder if we don’t cheat ourselves by using a photo prompt? Would the haiku or haibun work, or stand alone without it? Yours worked beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s all about focus and perspective! I so enjoyed this.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Some captures are fuzzy, but the memory lingers. Doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sue says:

    Love your humorous haiku, Viv!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. MarinaSofia says:

    Storms in our part of France as well – but no bedraggled pheasant to cheer us up! A gently humorous poem, very nice read this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Candy says:

    Oh I hate when that happens – even without the picture we could visualize the event

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pheasants are hard to capture, even a good lens graces us with fuzziness of the event.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. lynn__ says:

    Love your phuzzy pheasant, Viv! We have many pheasants here as well but rarely get close enough for a photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Mary says:

    Pheasants are beautiful, even when fuzzy.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Bodhirose says:

    I love those unexpected moments of nature that happen and make us go running for our cameras or our binoculars! Love your “fuzzy pheasant!”

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Grace says:

    Too bad, smiles ~ We need to have a good lens to capture that ~

    Like

  19. kanzensakura says:

    Fuzzy pheasant! I like that. The photo to use would have been the photo in the prompt post. Surprise is always a wonderful element to write about and when done with humor, even better!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I love those kind of surprises nature offers and how you took a famous poem for a title.

    Like

  21. Suzanne says:

    I love the gentle humour of this.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Ha.. We need the perfect lens to capture those pheasants

    Liked by 1 person

  23. katechiconi says:

    Fuzzy pheasant! Viv, that’s inspired alliteration!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

