December poem of lists

December started on my birthday – no gifts but cards galore.
Otherwise, much like the rest of the year
with the addition of making marzipan and mincemeat
to decorate Christmas cakes and making Noel tarts,
the usual sitting about with a book and too much TV,
sewing until it hurts, toddling round the bourg
and  lots of naps.

The highspots were the visits from friends with little girls
and the très convivial Christmas Day with friends,
Boxing Day with more friends and all the festive food.
Family came and games were played, walks were walked,
talk was talked but Hogmanay it was early to bed.
The weather? Dull and mild, windy and wet.
Outlook? Fasting after the feasting.

for Margo Roby’s Tuesday Tryout, a bit late – symptom of my lack of oomph.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to December poem of lists

  1. the winter blues often seem to set in about this time of year. May spring melt it away soon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tialys says:

    December is a weird month. All the anticipation and it’s gone in a flash. I’m sure opening the doors on my advent calendar seems to make the time go quicker too 😉 Maybe it’s time to give those up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. margo roby says:

    I think everyone’s get up and go gets up and goes, after December. Just glad to see you, ViV.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved your poem and it reflects a lot of my mood exactly. Have been needing more rest and finding my oomph slightly more restored. I put so much into Christmas that there is nothing left of me for the new year. I think we should turn that around next year. Thank you for the new word and I hope you find your oomph soon. Last year, mine went away too. Enjoy a bit of rest. It’s good for the heart. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sorry my birthday gift was so late! I hate that you had nothing to open on the day 😦

    Like

  6. I think it sounds lovely and I learned a new word “Hogmanay”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. katechiconi says:

    Perhaps apathy is too strong for this nice poem’s tag. I think it’s simply that much has been crammed into a short time, and your get up and go simply got up and left for a holiday. How about a cheering Skype some time soon?

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

