A New Year Toast

 

Please  be upstanding
while I propose a toast ─
A toast to all the people
that I have loved the most.

A schoolgirl crush on a teacher
who inspired me to write.
Peggy B the beautiful
full of grace and light.

10-year-old Chris W,
the friend who was a boy
in those wild days by the river
full of life and joy.

Best friend Mary Domini
who became a nun ─
gave up on the outside world
and all that silly fun.

Grans and aunts and great-aunts
boyfriends, by the score,
loved and lost without regret
and some I still adore.

So, ladies and gentlemen,
raise your glasses to friends
relations and loved ones.
May they flourish, wherever they are.

Miz Quickly is back with more daily prompts – today she asks us to write a toast.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New Year Toast

  1. “raise your glasses to friends
    relations and loved ones.
    May they flourish, wherever they are.” ……..Clink… and to you also Viv

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a fun little glimpse into Viv’s life! Much loved!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tialys says:

    Hang on – let me get a glass of something suitable and I’ll join you in the toast. Well, maybe I’ll wait a bit – it’s only 9.30 in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. yes….wherever they are!

    Like

  5. Shivani says:

    a simple message presented beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

