Choice

If I had my druthers -─
though it’s a close-run thing -─
I’d rather have pain
than be bored.

 
Failing mental stimulus
the assaults of the body
become engrossing,
self-centred and hideous.

 
But with company,
creativity, music
or a rattling good story,
pain dwindles
to background irritation.

 

Oh blasted WordPress:  it’s taken 4 edits to replace the line spaces where I want them.  Each time, WP squashes everything back together.  WP doesn’t understand poetry.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, prose poem, Wordpress gripes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Choice

  1. So true…pain is worse at night when not busy and that’s where the mind goes. I was a student nurse working night shift the day Kennedy was killed. Very remarkable how so few doses of pain medication were needed while every TV was tuned to the unfolding events.

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Yup, I agree ….stay occupied, interested, curious if you can!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is the most interesting phenomena. I can be exhausted beyond measure and someone will drop by for a good rousing conversation and the fatigue just disappears. You say it better though.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. katechiconi says:

    Oh, I’m definitely with you on this one!

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

