The colour of laughter

Tinkling silver laughter
flickering through bare branches ─
the sound of Autumn sunshine.

Laughter of children
patterned pink and yellow,
skipping through playtime

until the deep red chime
of the bell calls them back
to a grey-blue  learning place.

Victoria Slotto at DVerse wants poetry to illustrate synaesthesia – not an easy task for me.

image from fotofolia

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The colour of laughter

  1. ‘deep red chime’ – I love that!

    Like

  2. colonialist says:

    Reading this feels interestingly uneven-textured and smells sweet, although the taste is a bit confusing and the sound volume could be turned up a bit..

    Like

  3. Kathy Reed says:

    Nice…always children are made up of many colors..and their sounds are those colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bryan Ens says:

    The emotional and sound colours are delightfully vivid.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Shawna says:

    So sad to be called back inside. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lynn__ says:

    I love the colors and sounds of the children’s laughter…a pleasant synesthesia!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This definitely cheered up my chilled, gray November day. We are waiting for more snow as winter as usurped autumn here. I like the contrast you paint between autumnal colors and the gray-blue classroom.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bodhirose says:

    I think pink is a happy color too, Viv. Hard to go back inside to the grey-blue sometimes after all that colorful laughter!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. To a grey-blue learning place is fantastic! As is everything else!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I like the sound of autumn sunshine -so evocative.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You were obviously up to the challenge. Such a happy poem. Wish I could hear color too.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Grace says:

    I love the color of the children’s laughter ~ That break time is so fun ~

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love these colors of sound, esp., vibrant, I think, is “the deep red chime
    of the bell”

    Liked by 1 person

  14. katechiconi says:

    Funny, I always ‘see’ the colours of sounds and places…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Oh I do wish that learning could be as colorful as the play… but maybe we learn to appreciate the grey, growing up.. The color of sound is a wonderful concept.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Ah but it looks and sounds good. And is different because of the prompt!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Right on, it made me smile when i read “the sound of Autumn sunshine”

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is absolutely delightful 😀 I love how you depict the laughter of children as patterns of pink and yellow.. the colors of bright happiness 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Misky says:

    You did very well with it, Viv. It’s a lovely poem. >

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

