Border Crossing

 

danube_bridge_border_crossing

Overarching support
links communities
separated
by ideology
custom
geography

Miz Quickly asks us to write a poem of between 15 syllables and eight lines, and tells us to be concrete.  I have a literal kind of mind.

Also linked at dVerse for Open Link Night
Image:  The Danube Bridge from Wikipedia

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, pictures, short poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Border Crossing

  1. And my rather long comment disappeared into the ethers so I shall simply say how evocative of so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very effective. Short yet powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kaykuala h says:

    Overarching support
    links communities

    Cleverly done Viv! Yes, a support that links, sorely given a miss by the strong over the weak!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  4. julespaige says:

    I grew up in an area that had many bridges connecting communities.
    And now I live in an area where they are trying to salvage the older covered bridges.
    The Landis Covered Bridge isn’t all that far from me. 14th bridge from the top.
    http://www.pacoveredbridges.com/lancaster-county/

    Like

  5. I loved how this could be three or four poems in one depending on how you read it. Borders have always been something puzzling to me. Who decides where to put a border and why?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. MarinaSofia says:

    Ah, well, if it’s a border to Romania, I’m OK with that….;-)
    I do hope the ideals and concepts of the EU can survive all that is currently happening. I don’t want to go back to a place of borders and walls and barking officials…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thotpurge says:

    So many bridges that we still need to build…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very strong structure reflected in your words!

    Like

  9. Grace says:

    I like the idea Viv ~

    Like

  10. Suzanne says:

    Borders – such an arbitary concept yet so powerful.

    Like

  11. So much more importance in those borders… really.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Such a beautifully effective poem … that too in such few words 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. catterel says:

    If that bridge (or its predecessor) could talk …

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Perfect for a short poem — many stories in very few words.
    Enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

