Seigneur ayez pitie de nous (mark II)

Kyrielle 

Have mercy on this wicked world
O Lord, I pray at start of day.
It’s the waste that makes my flesh crawl;
the waste of the truncated lives

by war and madness brought to dust,
never again to realise
the beauty of the start of day.
Zealots prepare to disobey

the sacred Quran which tells them
they’re not responsible for those
who go astray.  God will ensure
the goodness of the start of day.

Omnipotence unique to you ─
so Lord, I ask at start of day ─
why do you not use your power
to rid this world of division,

hatred and foul disunity?
At the start of every day
we will thank the Lord as we pray
for peace and tolerance and love.

This is a re-written version of a poem I wrote a couple of years ago.  The re-write was sparked by a post from Ron Lavallette in which he quotes words from the Koran which refutes the extremists’ idea that they should kill those who don’t believe as they do.  Miz Quickly asks us to write  a Kyrielle today.  My version loosely follows the rules, with a movable refrain and a token attempt at a rhyme scheme, but for once I have followed the set form of eight syllables per line.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, rhyming poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Seigneur ayez pitie de nous (mark II)

  1. julespaige says:

    It is not the written words that tell anyone to divide,
    but the human who interprets such to get what ‘they’ would prescribe –
    to oft making a dirge of what is holy and whole
    whist the refrain from removing their head from a darkened hole.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your style is so precise and well crafted for such difficult thoughts. The greater good and/or God will prevail but humanity has a difficult path. Our thoughts and prayers are with those who are in France.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. may mercy and peace rain down upon us all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amen. I saw that post about the Quran and was more than a little surprised. Oui, Seigneur, ayez pitie. Et donnez-nous le courage a aimez.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. May He hear our prayers for peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Prayers especially for France today…whether poetic as yours…or simple as mine. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. katechiconi says:

    That same Seigneur who gives us free will to be good, or not, expects us to use that free will to live peacefully with each other. We’re not doing so well on either count, I suspect… I like your morning prayer. Mine goes thus:
    Let me do no harm, but only good today.
    May my kindness outweigh my smallness of spirit.
    May those I love be safe and well.
    And now, give me the energy to get out of bed
    and do what must be done this day.

    Liked by 3 people

I love it when you leave a Reply

