Wet Feet

Miz Quickly wants us to write about getting wet feet, a thing I seldom do, taking willingly to wellies where necessary.  Cold feet, yes, about lots of things, but that’s another story.

A New Year ’s Day trip to an artist’s studio-cum-café in Seychelles saw us waiting at a bus stop when the monsoon started in earnest.  Machine gun bullets rained down on hapless, helpless ViV and Jock.  So what, we grinned cheerfully, it was a nice warm drenching.

The bus gave up when the flood reached the top of the tyres, so we got off and trudged through near waist-high water to the café.  Power was off – not unusual – so having admired all the artwork, we waited steaming slightly while lunch was improvised.  I was not popular when I sat down at the horrendously out of tune grand piano and played Chopin’s Raindrop Prelude.

We had to catch the Islander plane back to Mahé to be there for work next day, so we decided  to walk the few miles to the airstrip, finding that the driest place on the island was the beach.  We thought we’d missed our plane, but found the airport crammed with passengers waiting for the flood to subside so aircraft could land.  Eventually the sky cleared, a plane arrived, filled up with stranded passengers, and went there and back and there and back, first come first served.  Home and dry.

Now for a complete non sequitur:Celie's pig's wistful conversation piece HAIGA

A polite plonker haiga ─  image borrowed from the Kitchen’s Garden

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, Seychelles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wet Feet

  1. I love the stoicism and pragmatism of this story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. catterel says:

    I’m so grateful fort hat kind of memory – horrendous at the time, but an adventure to talk about, and glad it’s in the past!

    Like

  3. WET – I sure know that feeling – well said Viv!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    Ha! I was with you – drowning – every wet step of the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. colonialist says:

    You should have had an encore of ‘Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head’ followed by ‘I’m Singing in the Rain’?

    Like

  6. tialys says:

    What a memory! I suppose if you have to get wet somewhere it might as well be somewhere exotic.
    How adorable is that pig?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. They did sometimes lead to landslides, but the system for taking floodwater away was pretty effective. Many of the islands of Seychelles have mountainous middles and narrow coastal strips. All roads have deep and wide gulleys each side.

    Like

  8. restlessjo says:

    Such an exotic location to go to work in! 🙂 Knocks spots off the DHSS!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. played Chopin’s Raindrop Prelude…. that is the best part of the story… gives me a glimpse of your fun side.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Misky says:

    Those sort of floods and storms are highly dangerous, so I’m glad you made it to safety. And I love that photo. It makes me laugh whenever I see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. julespaige says:

    Fun. Well maybe as a memory. Just this summer I got caught in a down pour at the shore (beach) in Ocean City, MD. So I can feel for you. Though we did not have to walk in waist high waters. We were drenched and ended up eating in a covered outside section of a restaurant.
    The air conditioning of the inside would surely have gotten us sick. And down at the waters edge nothing dries by just the air alone. Cheers, Jules

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

