Regression

 

Logophile from the toddler stage
Reading mastered at three─
even long and complex words
sometimes mispronounced
but never misspelled.
This word lover
could banish boredom
at a stroke
pass waiting time
in a whirl of
poems and stories;
reason, chat, argue,
persuade
and best of all, teach
to pass on the love and the words.

for Miz Quickly’s prompt asking us to go back into our past.  This was sparked by Dictionary.dom’s word of the day yesterday:  logophile, word lover.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, short poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Regression

  1. Bastet says:

    Ah, yes … and a wonderful way to be!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hear you! There’s no loo literature allowed in this house (curse you, hygenic Hub!) so I read the labels on air freshener, etc., to pass the time. Once a reader, always a reader.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. colonialist says:

    And pass on the love OF the words?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. julespaige says:

    Perhaps that is why I enjoy Wordles so? So many yet to discover.
    Though I was late to the party in learning to read. Perhaps I’ve made up some of that loss?

    Nicely done. I didn’t know Logophile either! First thing I thought of was the toy. But we build with our words, don’t we?!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tialys says:

    Keep passing it on Viv!

    Like

  6. whimsygizmo says:

    LOVE. I almost wrote a “Wordaholic” piece for our vice day. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. catterel says:

    I’ll never forget the day I discovered Roget’s Thesaurus 😀 Love at first sight!

    Like

  8. Misky says:

    It’s a gift, Viv.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. katechiconi says:

    Same, same. I love words, and the joy of discovering exactly the bon mot to express what I want to say. Words open up new worlds, and make it impossible to be bored…

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

