Exodus full circle

image,© deserted village, County Kerry, Ireland 

Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose.
Home was where you lived and worked –
you were farmer, farm labourer, shepherd or servant
weaver, spinner, cottage industry worker.

Industrial revolution
wars and progress changed all that.
Countryside and villages emptied ─-
city growth crowded people together, work nearby.
Crime, disease and abject poverty followed.

Some prospered, sought a better life:
the age of the commute began,
longer and longer journeys
enabled a taste of peace and country life
but with rapidly reducing free time.
Villages without inhabitants regained them ─
a different kind ─- revived local life.

Commuters soon tired of hours
on train or motorway,
away from home and family.
A new fashion emerged ─-
working from home.

Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose.

Miz Quickly suggests we Steal a line* from a poem or book or a song, and make that the first line of a poem.  Plus ça change comes from a poem by Alphonse Karr, written in 1849­.  The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Also shared at dVerse Open Link Night

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, prose poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Exodus full circle

  1. Bastet says:

    Or as they also say … the world just keeps going around … nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Beautifully expressed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I knew that saying, but never knew where it came from. And, so true. This makes me a bit melancholic.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Abhra says:

    I am reading your poem and smiling – so very true – I often tell the same story to myself, when I am tired from traveling.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kanzensakura says:

    Very interesting photo. Had me wondering how one could actually plow that. And then I stepped into your poem. It is sad, but I see those villages and small towns melting away, blending in with endless suburbs held together by huge groceries, local food franchises, the Internet, and Facebook. Years ago while in Japan during Christmas, I had Kentucky Fried Chicken for my dinner. It tasted no different from that in Philly, Richmond, Chicago….You bring the cycle together so well in this. Excellent write.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We are striving towards a saner world! Beautiful!.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Working from home is now a possibility.. Maybe it will rejuvenate the Villages.. The story repeats itself

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mary says:

    Ah yes, it seems we have come full circle! Interesting how one’s ideals change over the years.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Grace says:

    I know what you mean about change and evolution ~ Today I am working from home, smiles ~

    Thanks for joining in Viv ~

    Like

  10. MarinaSofia says:

    Well, I’m not sure how much those ‘working from home’ people integrate into village life – and indeed, in some places, there’s nothing much left of village life. Sorry to be a tad melancholy about it, but I see country life being destroyed in the places I know best. But then again, country life was not that idyllic to start off with, the work in the fields was really hard and thankless, so who can blame them…

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

