Self-Portrait

Ms Quickly:  wants us to “write a self-portrait. Candid? Comic? Fractured? (The Self Descending a Selfscape) Can you haiku you?”

A potted portrait
surfing through past personae
to  reality

Distant Past
Ringletted
precocious pest
in smocked dresses
handknits and StartRight shoes

swiftly followed by
boring pigtailed convent girl
in tunic, shirt and tie with
pudding basin hat

or weekend scruff in
shorts, tees,
horse’s head sweater
and wellies:
mucky clobber for
messing about on the river.

History
Thirty-ish slim brunette
suited and serious
dressed for the office
or
sportily clad for squash
horseriding,
housework or
gardening
rambling
or
glammed up to the nines
for partying

Now
White-haired old lady
short-arsed and rounded
wobbly walker
dressed for comfort

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, haiku and senryu, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Self-Portrait

  1. thehutts says:

    I love that photo of you and me despite the highly inappropriate white ribbons on my plaits. I believe I took it off a 1969 film of our tour of Scotland. I think ti was taken up Glen Nevis but I would have to review the film again to be sure. I have all the early films on a USB stick now so I must look out more clips of family, friends and pets. Love Sally

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a sweet way to sum up life. I’m not athletic in any way and a klutz in all. 🙂 But still life has so many facets of oneself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wobbly walker
    dressed for comfort………. I can relate. Seems like it doesn’t take long to sum up a life, does it?Almost as fast as the years pass.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    I love the progression of this, and meeting all the “yous” within. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your approach to this, Viv…you paint such a clear picture of you as time progresses…it amazes me how much our attire can say about what we do/who we are in life! :)’s

    Liked by 1 person

  6. katechiconi says:

    I relate, at every stage! Except perhaps the squash, my sport was cycling…

    Like

  7. b_y says:

    Love the portrait

    I’ve never known anyone who played squash.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tialys says:

    I love that first photo! How cute you were. It is you isn’t it??

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

