Bibliophile ..for Octpo 25

 

a quarter of the books

My favourite toy was always a book,
whatever I was reading at the time,
though there were short intervals –
for example when the library was closed –
I played with my friend who’s a boy
with Dinky cars and a home-made town
where we made up stories with sound effects
for the cars to act.

My next favourite toy was the river
and the boat I escaped in to read
under the trees where I couldn’t be seen,
which brings me full circle, to books.
current book and next project

for Octpowrimo day 25 – yay, only 6 more to go

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, pictures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bibliophile ..for Octpo 25

  1. Ahhh, books. They have saved my sanity, opened the world to me, staved off loneliness, and enriched my world in countless ways. Love the picture. I have sat, right there, a few times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tialys says:

    I was the same – although not with the river. My daughters are also bibliophiles and could read almost before they could talk.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ron. says:

    Always a book. Always.

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

