Overwhelmed

When my inbox is deluged
with a smorgasbord of  stuff
when there’s too much to read
action, arrange and consider
engulfed in officialese and jargon
and swamped with bills to pay
interspersed with  rubbishy spam
overwhelmed inundated liquidated
besieged is how I am, I’ve had enough
I can’t withstand the pressure

I  press delete with abandon
followed at once by repentance
too late I cry it can’t be undone
how on earth do I finish this sentence?

a pseudo sonnet for Octpo day 21 “In honor of my week of feeling overwhelmed, I challenge you to write into your feelings of overwhelm; when you feel it, how you feel it, what happens when you feel it, and what you do about it.”

Also for and Margo Roby’s Tuesday Tryout – she wants us to find unusual words to describe something simple.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, Poems, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. julespaige says:

    I knew a gal who was very good at letting go. Maybe she didn’t always want to get rid of stuff. But she felt she had no choice in her later years. Then she hadn’t had much to let go of when she …let go. But now some of that stuff is in my porch. Thankfully I’ve been able to get rid of quite a bit of it. But some of it lingers…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    Tee hee! I’m a dab hand with that button at times. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. this is rich,
    lovely imaginations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. margo roby says:

    Prolixity, hmm? Your word choice works particularly well with your content; made me feel as if everything was piling and piling and would explode at any moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cindy says:

    Oh my inbox!
    I can feel your pain,
    and in this little meter
    we shall sing together again!.

    Yes, I left my comment as a poem. Well written and how very true. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. whimsygizmo says:

    YES. So tempted to just kill it all, allllll the time. I understand this, so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Candy says:

    Oh, I know that feeling of regret when I’ve emptied the trash on my computer – what if…….

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I feel so overwhelmed by my inbox!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You are too good. Viv. How we hate those spams getting infiltrated 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. a duet write,
    wit and wisdom are obvious here.

    😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Suzanne says:

    I know exactly how you feel. I would like to do this challenge too but I am feeling too overwhelmed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. katechiconi says:

    … you could always try Control + Z. My sympathies; one of my followers or regular viewers inevitably brings a deluge of spam in Czech and German. Something has its teeth in his/her system which hooks onto me for a few days – an email tapeworm, if you like. Delete, delete, delete….

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

