Oh Dear (second version)

in new layout after Misky went to a lot of trouble to show me how to do it properly. This is for day 19’s prompt, which I posted yesterday but WP messed up the layout. “Each line of the poem starts with “Dear (name)” You get one line to say something to an ex or some significant love, example “my ex boyfriend, school crushes, my (then) current boyfriend, my childhood love, etc. “ I haven’t exactly interpreted the instructions to the letter, just used the repetitive salutation to recount briefly my past life and loves! Not exactly a poem, but …….”

Dear Brian, invited to the party when we were six,
six girls and two boys who fought like fighting
cocks and threw the awful wartime food about.
Not seen since.

Dear Chris, stoutly defended as my friend who’s a boy, taught me to
wrestle and build dens, cook dampers. Lost sight of
till he found me useful as a last-minute substitute.

Dear Michael, so far above me, Jewish sixth-former, captain of cricket
and all the important sports. He held my hand,
whopped me at tennis, gazed into my eyes and stoically
STOMACHED the bacon Mum gave him when we came in soaked.
but he never came back.

Dear Kevin, Irish charm, several brothers plus a fund of stories
occasional stopgap boyfriends.

Dear Richard, a soulmate friend I could say anything to, and did.
We took the engine out of his Austin 7,
dismantled it in the kitchen,
re-assembled every nut and bolt
and it worked.
We each found another but remained friends.

Dear John B, train mad and about to go in the army to Korea.
I’m ashamed of the Dear John letter
I sent him.

Dear John D told lies about me at Church, so I gave him the push.

Dear Charlie was a sophisticated mistake, far too old for me went off
with flirty Wendy.
Her red hat was spotted in the bacvk
of his car in the cinema car park.
He asked for his records back.
Not seen since.

Dear David R took me to Goodwood and Silverstone Grand Prix,
where we ran into…

Dear Barry S who I married, had his children. Later he married my
best friend. Umpteen
acquaintances in my in-between
years, none of them worth a
mention until…

Dear blind-date dentist, made life exciting. I’m still married to him.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Oh Dear (second version)

  1. restlessjo says:

    I do like a happy ever after, even if it took a while. 🙂 He’s a keeper!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. love your name…..exceptional story teller,

    http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.in/

    check out short story slam week 31 today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That looks like it could be fun. Mine would be a very short list. Yours wasn’t all that long either when you realize how far back you’ve gone. I may write one of these just for myself. It stirs up memories. 🙂 Well done in spite of technical difficulties with WP.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is great. You have had quite a history of boyfriends and I’m glad you found the one you have now. Very fun form. I would love to write about my sociopath but it would be too long.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this, Viv. You sure had a lot of beaus. You must have been a belle.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

