~~~~~~~ I’m in the Mood for Dancing ~~~~~~~~

for Octpowrimo Poetry Prompt 17 – Are You Dancing?  and 6-Word Saturday

 “Dance, when you’re broken open. Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off. Dance in the middle of the fighting. Dance in your blood. Dance when you’re perfectly free.” ― Rumi

 

Look at me, oh look at me,
oh look at me I’m dancing.
My Salad Days were dancing mad
in sticky-out frocks and waspies.
Twirl and sashay glide and spin
to Victor Sylvester’s saccharine
or Glen Miller’s big band glamour sound.
To In the Mood, flirting and skirting
the other wild dancers
in the Royalty on Friday nights.
Oh for those days that were perfectly free.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, short poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ~~~~~~~ I’m in the Mood for Dancing ~~~~~~~~

  1. restlessjo says:

    Flirting and skirting in your sticky-out frock! I can just picture it 🙂 You’ve had some good times, Viv! And watching Strictly on a Saturday night isn’t so bad 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too love those days of “being perfectly free.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. whimsygizmo says:

    Gorgeousness. I got lost in those twirling skirts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bastet says:

    I can hear the music playing and see the skirts twirling … nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those moments when the music takes us! Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Candy says:

    sweet bit of nostalgia. makes me want to dance too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Heartwarming poem. Inspired me to write a happy poem too 🙂

    Like

  8. Misky says:

    I love this. Such a happy poem!

    >

    Like

  9. Such style and joy in this piece! Makes me think perhaps I need to find a friend to take a Swing dance class with!
    Thank you for your kind comment on my poem at poetryofthenetherworld dot blogspot dot com

    Liked by 1 person

  10. tialys says:

    I did a Zumba class this morning but that was probably as far from Victor Sylvester and Glen Miller as you can get 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. catterel says:

    Oh yes, I remember it well – and scratchy starched petticoats that could ladder your nylons (which had seams down the back —)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ron. says:

    I remember dancing in my head & the body following. Now it’s all so only cerebral. Still, dancing’s dancing…

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

