Abecedaire of Recollection

 

A you’re adorable
B you’re so beautiful – there’s
Comfort in those old songs
Delight in remembering all the words
Excitement at recognising the melody

Funny how memory
Grabs us,
History resurgent
Instigates a trawl through the past
Just to find that elusive name
Katie or Kay or something like that

Looking back to younger days
Many friends almost forgotten
Nostalgia raises its head
Overwhelms the
Present with
Questions about the past.

Reminiscence once begun
Stays for days
To tease us
Until real life intervenes
Veiling
What made us
Xenophobic
Yielding to the familiar
Zone for comfort.
 

8204e-img_20150928_151453

For Octpowrimo 12:  The prompt to write an acrostic using the whole alphabet is a crafty way to make us write longer poems!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Abecedaire of Recollection

  1. restlessjo says:

    Bravo! And all so true 🙂

    Like

  2. I loved this and you have taught me something new again today. My education is sadly lacking so I learn where ever I can. You did a marvelous job with this !!! Very impressive and so well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ron. says:

    More often than not, I dislike reading abecedarian. Not this time, though. Well done, V.

    I continue to admire your stamina. I’m still dreading next April, when I’ll have to wrestle with the decision whether or not to play the daily po game.
    Hang in there; you’re rolling.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Misky says:

    Wow! Well done.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tialys says:

    I don’t know how you come up with these day after day! I particularly liked this one though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. katechiconi says:

    Clever! I wondered how you were going to integrate X….

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

