White Boots

Today’s Octpowrimo prompt is to bring our memories of colour to a new poem.  As a quilter, colour is incredibly important to me, and I’ve often written technicolour poems.  Colour me Happy is the most viewed poem on my blog.  It dates from a long time back, and has been re-blogged a couple of times, so I won’t bore you with it again!]   This one is new, but one of my earliest memories.  I suppose white is a colour.

White Boots

A bundle of mischief aged about two
lay on the kitchen table
Mum in a rush attempted
to button the baby’s boots.
White buckskin, they were, quite stylish
six buttons each side, very fiddly.
The child with a wriggle
crossed her legs with a giggle.

Left went on right and right went on left,
button hook flashed with a flourish.
At last they were done;
the child stood on the floor
and Mother looked down in horror.
Oh no, she cried, supressing a curse,
what’s to be done? Oh bother (or worse).
Of course they missed the bus.

8204e-img_20150928_151453

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to White Boots

  1. Quite cute! Thanks for sharing this lovely memory!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Candy says:

    what a fun memory!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    This poem made me smile. The word picture in my mind was wonderful. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dawn D says:

    Love the fun and laughter in this poem, you captured the cheekiness of the child perfectly. And poor mom 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cindy says:

    I giggled a little at the end. Nice work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nikita Goel says:

    CUTE !
    SUPER DUPER CUTE !

    Like

  7. Brought a big smile to my face!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. tialys says:

    What a lovely image. I know you’re always telling us how old you are but surely not old enough to remember buttonhooks at first hand?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ivywalker says:

    This is great! Just the other day my great niece showed up with her shoes on the wrong feet… so cute…. she dressed herself … mom may have noticed if she had helped!

    Like

  10. Bastet says:

    How cute .. I really enjoyed this!

    Like

  11. katechiconi says:

    Love this! I must have missed it on previous outings. I think my favourite line is “oh bother (or worse)”… It is so often worse, but I’m very fond of drat and blast too…

    Liked by 1 person

I love it when you leave a Reply

